Rossi and Borriello cut from Italy's squad

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

ROME (AP) — American-born forward Giuseppe Rossi and AC Milan striker Marco Borriello were dropped Tuesday from Italy's World Cup squad.

Coach Marcello Lippi also sent home goalkeeper Salvatore Sirigu, defender Mattia Cassani and midfielder Andrea Cossu upon announcing his final 23-man team.

Midfielder Mauro Camoranesi remained on the squad despite injuring his left knee during training Tuesday.

Lippi did not offer any immediate explanation for his choices. He was due to meet with reporters Wednesday.

Rossi was born in New Jersey to Italian parents and has dual citizenship. He played well for Italy at last year's Confederations Cup, scoring twice in the opener against the United States, but struggled during the second half of this season with his Spanish club Villarreal.

Borriello scored 14 goals for AC Milan this season but plays center forward, a position where Lippi prefers Alberto Gilardino, Vincenzo Iaquinta and Giampaolo Pazzini.

Nine players remain from the team that won the World Cup four years ago in Germany: Gianluigi Buffon, Fabio Cannavaro, Gianluca Zambrotta, Camoranesi, Daniele De Rossi, Gennaro Gattuso, Andrea Pirlo, Gilardino and Iaquinta.

Fabio Grosso, the left back who converted the decisive penalty kick in the final against France four years ago, had already been cut two weeks ago after being named to the preliminary 30-man squad.

Lippi never even considered picking Antonio Cassano, the talented but temperamental Sampdoria forward, or Mario Balotelli, the controversial 18-year-old Inter Milan striker.

Italy has been training in Sestriere at 2,035 meters (6,670 feet) since May 23 and will depart for South Africa on June 8.

The Azzurri have friendlies set up against Mexico in Brussels on Thursday and Switzerland in Geneva on Saturday.

At the World Cup, Italy opens against Paraguay on June 14 and will also face New Zealand and Slovakia in Group F.



Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Morgan De Sanctis (Napoli), Federico Marchetti (Cagliari).

Defenders: Salvatore Bocchetti (Genoa), Leonardo Bonucci (Bari), Fabio Cannavaro (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Domenico Criscito (Genoa), Christian Maggio (Napoli), Gianluca Zambrotta (AC Milan).

Midfielders: Mauro Camoranesi (Juventus), Daniele De Rossi (AS Roma), Gennaro Gattuso (AC Milan), Claudio Marchisio (Juventus), Riccardo Montolivo (Fiorentina), Angelo Palombo (Sampdoria), Simone Pepe (Udinese), Andrea Pirlo (AC Milan).

Forwards: Antonio Di Natale (Udinese), Alberto Gilardino (Fiorentina), Vincenzo Iaquinta (Juventus), Giampaolo Pazzini (Sampdoria), Fabio Quagliarella (Napoli).