Michigan's Burke captures Naismith honor

Michigan sophomore guard Trey Burke was named the winner of the 2013 Naismith Trophy, given to the college basketball player of the year.

Burke, the first Michigan player to win the award, has guided the Wolverines back to the NCAA title game for the first time since 1993. He buried a deep 3- pointer against Kansas in the regional semifinals to send the game into overtime and made three free throws in the final minute of Saturday's Final Four win over Syracuse.

"Trey is a selfless player who works hard to make his teammates better every day," Michigan head coach John Beilein said of the point guard. "He has provided tremendous leadership all season long and has played at an extremely high level every game."

Burke, the Big Ten Player of the Year, has averaged 18.5 points and 6.8 assists per game this season.

The award was given by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which is comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. Fan voting accounted for 25 percent of the final tally.

The other finals were Creighton junior Doug McDermott, Indiana junior Victor Oladipo and Georgetown sophomore Otto Porter, Jr.

Miami-Florida's Jim Larranaga won the men's college coach of the year honor.

Other finalists included Saint Louis University coach Jim Crews, Gonzaga University coach Mark Few and Georgetown University coach John Thompson III.

Larranaga guided the Hurricanes to the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and the ACC Tournament championships. Miami lost in the Sweet 16 to Marquette, but finished with a 29-7 overall mark.