Maras, Parcells, Taylor head Giants' ring of honor

Three members of the Mara family, three coaches who led the New York Giants to championships and 11 Hall of Famers are among the 30 men being inducted into the team's new ring of honor.

The Giants released the list of those to be honored on Sunday night, hours before their game with the Chicago Bears. There are 22 players on the list.

The ring honors the men who helped the Giants win seven NFL championships and almost 650 games in the team's 86-year history. Their names will be displayed on the facing of the upper deck of the New Meadowlands Stadium.

"The Ring of Honor and a Hall of Fame are elements that have been discussed for quite some time," said John Mara, the Giants President and Chief Executive Officer. "For many years fans have asked us why we had neither, and our response always was that we would when either Giants Stadium undergoes a refurbishing or we have a new stadium."

Those honored include franchise founder Tim Mara and includes fellow owners Wellington Mara, Jack Mara and Bob Tisch. It includes George Young, the general manager who built two Super Bowl-winning teams, and championship-winning coaches Steve Owen, Jim Lee Howell and Bill Parcells.

The 11 Hall of Fame players are Mel Hein, Ken Strong, Tuffy Leemans, Emlen Tunnell, Frank Gifford, Rosie Brown, Sam Huff, Andy Robustelli, Y.A. Tittle, Harry Carson and Lawrence Taylor.

The other players in the ring are Al Bozis, Charlie Conerly, Dick Lynch, Joe Morrison, Pete Gogolak, George Martin, Phil Simms, Michael Strahan, Jessie Armstead, Amani Toomer and Tiki Barber.

"Words can't describe it," Armstead said of his inclusion in the Ring of Honor. "You get chills because you always feel like there are others who are greater than you who should go up there. It's just an honor. It's amazing knowing that you're among all these great players and great people and to be with the best organization in football."