Hobey Baker banquet to be held June 23

Celebrating 30 years of honoring college hockey’s top player, the annual Hobey Baker banquet will take place Thursday, June 23 at RiverCentre in downtown Saint Paul, Minnesota. 

Guest of honor will be outstanding forward Andy Miele of the Miami University RedHawks, winner of this year's Hobey Baker Award as the best player in college hockey. Miele led the nation in scoring posting 71 points in 39 games -- 11 points better than his closest competitor -- before signing a free-agent contract with the Phoenix Coyotes in April. 

Also honored posthumously will be the Hobey Baker Legend of Hockey for this year, Saint Paul, Minnesota native Herb Brooks. He coached the University of Minnesota to three national championships in the 1970s, guided the U.S. to the 1980 Olympic gold medal and 2002 silver medal, and coached professionally for nine years including several seasons with four NHL teams.

An all-star cast will be in attendance including past Hobey Baker Award winners and half-dozen former Legends of Hockey honorees. Attendees include: 2010 Hobey winner Blake Geoffrion (Wisconsin and Nashville Predators), Matt Gilroy (2009-Boston University and New York Rangers), and Ryan Duncan (2007-North Dakota),

Native Minnesotans -- and also former Hobey winners -- on hand will include Marty Sertich (Colorado College), Brian Bonin, Robb Stauber and Neil Broten (Minnesota), and Tom Kurvers (Minnesota-Duluth).

Broten won the first-ever Hobey in 1981 after winning the gold medal in Lake Placid in the ’80 Olympics. He won a Stanley Cup with the New Jersey Devils in 1995, where he scored the game-winning goal in Game 4 against the Detroit Red Wings to clinch the Cup.

Kurvers’ alma mater won a first-ever national championship in St. Paul in April. His name is also inscribed on Lord Stanley with Montreal’s 1986 run to sipping from Lord Stanley. 

The guest speaker will be former Edina, Minn., resident and Providence College star Brian Burke, who currently is President and General Manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Fans can go to www.hobeybakeraward.com for additional information and to purchase tickets.