Harris, Nearhoff lead All-OVC awards

Somerset, NJ (sports Network) - Albany wide receiver Jordan Harris and Robert Morris defensive end Nolan Nearhoff were named the Northeast Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Wednesday.

Harris, a 5-foot-11 junior, caught 61 passes for 1,243 yards and 15 touchdowns - all conference-leading totals.

Nearhoof, a 6-2, 280-pound senior, registered a career-high 10.5 sacks to become the NEC's all-time leader. He also totaled 76 tackles and 13 tackles for loss.

In addition, Wagner's Walt Hameline received coach of the year honors, Saint Francis (Pa.) running back Anthony Abeid claimed the offensive rookie of the year award and Robert Morris cornerback Marcelis Branch was named the defensive rookie of the year.

Albany collected the most All-NEC selections with nine, including six on the first team.

All-NEC Football First Team (as voted by the coaches)

QB - Nick Doscher, Wagner, Sr.

RB - Andrew Smith, Albany, Sr.

RB - Dominique Williams, Wagner, Jr.

WR - Gianni Carter, Duquesne, Jr.

WR - Jordan Harris, Bryant, Jr.

TE - Tyler George, Monmouth, Sr.

OL - Steve Ciocci, Wagner, Sr.

OL - Justin Martel, Sacred Heart, Sr.

OL - Mike Hunchak, Monmouth, Sr.

OL - Chris Willadsen, Bryant, Sr.

OL - Kadeem Williams, Albany, Jr.


DL - Jeff Covitz, Bryant, So.

DL - Tyler Foehr, Sacred Heart, Sr.

DL - Ocieka Bakou, Albany, Sr. 6-0 250

DL - Nolan Nearhoof, Robert Morris, Sr.

LB - Dorian Bell, Duquesne, Jr. 6-1 234

LB - Jon Morgan, Albany, Sr. 6-2 225

LB - Dan Sullivan, Monmouth, Jr. 6-2 235

DB - Jake DeMedal, Saint Francis (Pa.), Jr.

DB - Jarrett Dieudonne, Wagner, So.

DB - Serge Kona, Duquesne, Sr.

DB - Leon Saddler, Albany, Sr.

Special Teams

K - Josh Thiel, Saint Francis (Pa.), Sr.

P - Paul Layton, Albany, Jr.

RS - Otis Wright, Wagner, So.