Denmark finalizes World Cup squad; Kjaer stays

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

COPENHAGEN, Denmark (AP) — Defender Simon Kjaer made the cut for Denmark's World Cup squad on Friday, a day after being carried away on a stretcher during a friendly.

Coach Morten Olsen finalized his 23-man squad by dropping goalkeeper Kim Christensen, midfielders Michael Silberbauer, Michael Krohn-Dehli and striker Morten Rasmussen.

"We have picked the squad that we believe is the best and some had unfortunately to stay home," Olsen said.

Kjaer injured right knee ligaments making a tackle during the 2-0 win over Senegal on Thursday.

Team physician Soren Kaalund said on Friday that Kjaer was walking, but more tests were planned in the coming days.

Denmark includes veteran goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen and key striker Nicklas Bendtner, who both were spared during Thursday's friendly.

The squad also has veterans such as Feyenoord forward Jon Dahl Tomasson, Ajax winger Dennis Rommedahl and Liverpool defender Daniel Agger. Other experienced players are Christian Poulsen of Juventus and Martin Jorgensen of AGF Aarhus.

Less experienced are defenders Patrick Mtiliga, a 29-year-old with Spain's Malaga, and Simon Busk Poulsen from Alkmaar, who have played twice and three times for Denmark, respectively.

Olsen made the announcement hours before the team departs for South Africa.

Denmark was in Group E with the Netherlands, Japan and Cameroon.


Goalkeepers: Stephan Andersen (Brondby), Jesper Christiansen (Copenhagen), Thomas Sorensen, (Stoke)

Defense: Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Lars Jacobsen (Blackburn), William Kvist Jorgensen (Copenhagen), Simon Kjaer (Palermo), Per Kroldrup (Fiorentina), Patrick Mtiliga (Malaga), Simon Busk Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar)

Midfielders: Mikkel Beckmann (Randers), Thomas Enevoldsen (Groningen), Christian D. Eriksen (Ajax), Jesper Gronkjaer (Copenhagen), Daniel Jensen (Werder Bremen), Martin Jorgensen (Aarhus), Thomas Kahlenberg (Wolfsburg), Christian Poulsen (Juventus), Jakob Poulsen (Aarhus), Dennis Rommedahl (Ajax).

Forwards: Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal), Jon Dahl Tomasson (Feyenoord), Soren Larsen (Duisburg)