Dalton, Hali, Prater selected as AFC's top players

NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton, Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Tamba Hali and Denver record-setting kicker Matt Prater were selected as the AFC's top players for Week 14 of the NFL season.

Dalton completed 24-of-35 passes for 275 yards with three touchdowns and no interceptions in Cincinnati's 42-28 victory over Indianapolis. He also added a rushing score for the AFC North leaders, who improved to 6-0 at home this season.

It's Dalton's second weekly honor in 2013, following his Week 6 performance. He joins fellow quarterbacks Peyton Manning of Denver and Philip Rivers of San Diego as the lone two-time offensive winners in the AFC this season.

Hali also garnered his second defensive award of the year, having also picked up the honor in Week 6. This past Sunday, Hali notched six tackles, two sacks, and three tackles for loss in KC's 45-10 win over Washington.

Fellow Chiefs linebacker Justin Houston also captured defensive honors twice this season, as did Buffalo's Mario Williams.

Prater's record 64-yard field goal earned him his fifth career special teams honor and first of 2013. He made each of his three field goal tries, including the NFL's longest ever kick of 64 yards at the end of the first half, in Denver's 51-28 victory over Tennessee.

Other offensive nominees included Tom Brady, who threw for 418 yards with two touchdowns in New England's 27-26 come-from-behind win over Cleveland; Kansas City running back Jamaal Charles, who ran for 151 yards with a touchdown on 19 carries and also caught a TD pass in the win over Washington; and Manning, who threw for 397 yards with four scores in the lopsided win over the Titans.

Defensive consideration went to Miami defensive end Cameron Wake, who had three tackles with a sack and a forced fumble in a 34-28 win over Pittsburgh; and Baltimore safety James Ihedigbo, who notched 12 tackles with a forced fumble in a wild 29-26 victory over Minnesota.

Baltimore kick returner Jacoby Jones was also up for the special teams award after he averaged 38.0 yards on four kickoffs and returned one for a 77-yard touchdown against the Vikings.