Sign in to comment!



A list of Dutch monarchs from Willem I to Willem-Alexander I


Dutch Queen Beatrix, center, and Dutch Crown Prince Willem-Alexander and his wife Princess Maxima arrive for a banquet hosted by the Dutch Royal family at the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Monday, April 29, 2013. Queen Beatrix has announced she will relinquish the crown on April 30, 2013, after 33 years of reign, leaving the monarchy to her son Crown Prince Willem-Alexander. (AP Photo/Robin Utrecht, pool) (The Associated Press)

Crown Prince Willem-Alexander will be inaugurated Tuesday as the Netherlands' first king since 1890 as his mother, Queen Beatrix, abdicates after a 33-year reign.

Here is a list of Dutch monarchs since Willem I was installed as first king of in 1815 followed by the years of their reign.

— King Willem I. 1815-1840.

— King Willem II. 1840-1849.

— King Willem III. 1849-1890.

— Willem III's widow, Queen Emma, acted as regent from his death to 1898, when their daughter Wilhelmina turned 18 and acceded the throne.

— Queen Wilhelmina. 1898-1948.

— Queen Juliana. 1948-1980.

— Queen Beatrix. 1980-2013.