Alabama's Rolando McClain, Florida's Brandon Spikes and Missouri's Sean Weatherspoon are once again finalists for the Butkus Award, given annually to the nation's top linebacker.

South Carolina's Eric Norwood and Texas' Sergia Kindle also are finalists.

McClain, Spikes and Weatherspoon were finalists in 2008, when Wake Forest star Aaron Curry took home the award.

Three of this year's finalists are from the Southeastern Conference, and two are from the Big 12. The winner will be announced on or before Dec. 8.

The Butkus Award is selected by a 51-person panel comprised mostly of scouts, coaches and journalists. The award is named after Dick Butkus, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979.