More than half of the Mexico team that won the Gold Cup will face the United States again on Aug. 12 in a critical World Cup qualifier at Azteca Stadium.

Coach Javier Aguirre chose 12 players from the Gold Cup team that beat the United States 5-0 in Sunday's final. None of those Americans is likely to start against Mexico next month as the top U.S. players return to the squad. The Americans have never won at Azteca.

Mexico desperately needs a victory in a struggle to qualify for next year's World Cup in South Africa. It stands fourth in CONCACAF qualifying, and only the top three teams are guaranteed advancement. The Americans are in second place.

The 12 players from the Gold Cup team are goalkeepers Guillermo Ochoa and Jose de Jesus Corona; defenders Efrain Juarez, Jose Antonio Castro and Jonny Magallon; midfielders Israel Castro, Gerardo Torrado and Alberto Medina; and forwards Miguel Sabah, Giovani Dos Santos, Carlos Vela and Guillermo Franco.

Aguirre added five defenders: Ricardo Osorio, Carlos Salcido, Rafael Marquez, Oscar Rojas and Aaron Galindo. Also called up were midfielders Andres Guardado and Cuauhtemoc Blanco, and forward Nery Castillo.

Midway through qualifying, Costa Rica leads the North and Central America and Caribbean region with 12 points. The United States has 10, followed by Honduras (7), Mexico (6), El Salvador (5) and Trinidad and Tobago (2). While the top three advance to South Africa, the No. 4 team plays off with the No. 5 club from South America for another berth.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (America), Jose de Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul).

Defenders: Efrain Juarez (Pumas), Jose Antonio Castro (Tigres), Ricardo Osorio (Stuttgart), Carlos Salcido (PSV Eindhoven), Oscar Rojas (America), Rafael Marquez (Barcelona), Jonny Magallon (Chivas), Aaron Galindo (Chivas).

Midfielders: Israel Castro (Pumas), Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Cuautemoc Blanco (Chicago Fire), Andres Guardado (Deportivo La Coruna), Alberto Medina (Chivas).

Forwards: Miguel Sabah (Morelia), Giovani Dos Santos (Tottenham), Carlos Vela (Arsenal), Guillermo Franco (no team), Nery Castillo (Shakhtar Donetsk).