Lesley Visser is tops in her field.

The American Sportscasters Association voted her the No. 1 female sportscaster Thursday. The CBS broadcaster was chosen from 36 finalists. Rounding out the top five were Andrea Kremer of NBC, Robin Roberts of ABC and ESPN, Michele Tafoya of ESPN and Hannah Storm of ESPN.

ASA chairman Dick Enberg lauded Visser's "journalistic integrity," calling her a "personable and passionate" broadcaster.

Visser is the first woman assigned to "Monday Night Football." She was also the first to cover a Super Bowl sideline and join the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The ASA board of directors is made up of Enberg, Lou Schwartz, Jon Miller, Jim Nantz and Bill Walton.

(This version CORRECTS APNewsNow. corrects spelling of 1st name in headlines)