Forward Jozy Altidore, backup goalkeeper Brad Guzan and midfielder Ricardo Clark were among seven players added to the U.S. roster for the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Forward Conor Casey, midfielders Benny Feilhaber and Sacha Kljestan and defender Jonathan Bornstein also were put on the roster Thursday.

All seven had been with the U.S. last month as it finished second in the Confederations Cup, losing to Brazil 3-2 Sunday in the first FIFA final for American men.

The governing body of North and Central America and the Caribbean gave the U.S. permission Tuesday to expand its roster from 23 to 30 because it was in both tournaments. The U.S. can dress 18 players for each match.

"At times during the tournament, we may integrate these seven players with our core roster that was announced last week," U.S. coach Bob Bradley said.

The original roster included two regular starters, and both are coming off injuries: right back Steve Cherundolo (hip surgery) and forward Brian Ching (hamstring strain).

The United States, seeking its third straight title in the regional championship, opens against Grenada on Saturday night at Seattle, then completes the first round Wednesday against Honduras at Washington, D.C., and July 11 against Haiti at Foxborough, Mass.


The revised roster (x-will not be at all matches):

Goalkeepers: Jon Busch (Chicago Fire), x-Brad Guzan (Aston Villa, England), Troy Perkins (IK Start, Norway), Luis Robles (Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Defenders: x-Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover, Germany), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City), Clarence Goodson (IK Start, Norway), Jay Heaps (New England), x-Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA), Chad Marshall (Columbus), Michael Parkhurst (Nordsjaellands, Denmark), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock, Germany)

Midfielders: Davy Arnaud (Kansas City), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Colin Clark (Colorado), x-Ricardo Clark (Houston), Sam Cronin (Toronto), Brad Evans (Seattle), x-Benny Feilhaber (Aarhus, Denmark), Stuart Holden (Houston), Logan Pause (Chicago), Robbie Rogers (Columbus)

Forwards: Freddy Adu (AS Monaco), x-Jozy Altidore (Villarreal, Spain), x-Conor Casey (Colorado), Brian Ching (Houston), Kenny Cooper (Dallas), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF, Sweden), Santino Quaranta (D.C.)