Nepal ended 239 years of royal rule on Wednesday. The last time a monarchy was abolished was in May 2007 when Samoa's king died.

Some of the world's remaining ruling monarchies:

_ Bahrain, constitutional monarchy: King Hamad bin Isa al-Khalifa.

_ Bhutan, constitutional monarchy: King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck. Elections in March ended the country's absolute monarchy, with the king ceding most of his powers.

_ Brunei, constitutional sultanate: Sultan and Prime Minister Sir Hassanal Bolkiah.

_ Jordan, constitutional monarchy: King Abdullah II.

_ Kuwait, constitutional emirate: Sheik Sabah Al Ahmed Al Sabah.

_ Oman, monarchy: Sultan and Prime Minister Qaboos bin Said.

_ Qatar, emirate: Emir Sheik Hamad bin Khalifah al-Thani.

_ Saudi Arabia, monarchy: King and Prime Minister Abdullah.

_ Swaziland, monarchy: King Mswati III.

_ United Arab Emirates, federation of emirates: President Sheik Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan.


Source: CIA World Factbook.