The Cleveland Indians' starters ran out of zeros.

The starting rotation's consecutive scoreless streak ended at 44 1-3 innings on a throwing error Thursday.

Left-hander Aaron Laffey charged Rob Bowen's weak grounder in the second inning and threw it out of first baseman Ryan Garko's reach and into right field, allowing Bobby Crosby to score from second.

The streak started May 9 and was the club's longest since starters Bob Lemon, Gene Bearden, Sam Zoldak and Satchel Paige tossed 47 scoreless innings in August 1948 _ all threw complete game shutouts.

It was the longest by a major league team in one season since a 54-inning streak by Baltimore's starters from Sept. 1-7, 1974, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.