Sign in to comment!

Fox News Weather Center

Supermoon Lunar Eclipse: Paris, London and Lisbon Among Best Sites in Europe to View the Rare Celestial Event

The weather will provide most of the United Kingdom and western Europe with the best viewing conditions across the continent for Sunday night's rare supermoon lunar eclipse.

If skies were clear, the majority of Europe would be treated to most or all of the eclipse during the second half of Sunday night. Eastern parts of Europe will miss the end of the eclipse due to the moon setting, but not before having an opportunity to view most of the show.

That is if the weather cooperates.

Clouds and some showers will likely spoil the celestial show from northern and central parts of the Balkan Peninsula to Ukraine to western Russia. This includes in Moscow, Kiev, Bucharest, Belgrade and Sarajevo.

Clouds may be patchy enough for the southern Balkans to catch some glimpses of the eclipse.

Another zone of clouds and showers may interfere with sky gazers around the island of Sardegna in the Mediterranean Sea with some clouds streaming across Italy and back to eastern Spain.

An area of high pressure will provide places from Lisbon to Paris to London to Amsterdam to Munich with a clear sky and the best viewing conditions. Residents will just want to grab a jacket before heading outdoors.

The cool dome of high pressure will also be in control of Berlin and Warsaw; but in relation to places to the west, there is a greater concern for patchy fog to form and interfere with the view for some residents.

The eclipse will be hard to see in the far northern United Kingdom due to clouds streaming north of the high.

Where the lunar eclipse is visible, there will be plenty of opportunity for residents to gaze at the moon and to snap pictures.

"The moon will be fully eclipsed for a little more than one hour," stated AccuWeather Meteorologist and Astronomy Blogger Dave Samuhel. "But the time from the very start to the very end of the eclipse will be a little more than three hours."

According to Samuhel, a partial phase of the eclipse will begin at 2:07 a.m. BST/3:07 a.m. CEST Monday with the time of the greatest eclipse expected at 4:47 a.m. BST/5:47 a.m. CEST. The entire eclipse will end at 5:27 a.m. BST/6:27 a.m. CEST or when the moon sets in eastern Europe.

What makes Sunday night's lunar eclipse rare is that it is coinciding with a supermoon, which Samuhel says has not happened since 1982. This will also be the closest supermoon of 2015.

Watch below for Slooh's live broadcast of the event set to start at 1 a.m. BST/2 a.m. CEST:

A moon that is in the new or full stage when it makes its closest approach to Earth (known as lunar perigee) is defined as a supermoon.

"There will not be another supermoon eclipse until 2033 and the last total lunar eclipse anywhere across the Earth until 2018," Samuhel said.

Sunday night's supermoon will take on a red tint across its surface when it passes behind the Earth into its shadow.

"The red portion of sunlight is what makes it through our atmosphere to the other side, bent toward the eclipsed moon, so that even though the moon is within Earth's shadow, the red portion of the sun's light can give the moon this ghostly illumination," Eric Edelman of Slooh told AccuWeather.