LINCOLN, Neb. – Nebraska's governor and a majority of the Legislature have agreed to change the state's unique safe-haven law so it applies only to infants up to 3 days old.
The deal is an effort to prevent more drop-offs of older children and teenagers at hospitals.
Speaker of the Legislature Mike Flood said Monday that 40 of the state Legislature's 49 senators have agreed to the age limit.
The state's safe-haven law allows caregivers to abandon minor children — those as old as 18 — at hospitals without fear of prosecution.
At least 18 children, aged 22 months to 17 years, have been abandoned since the law took effect in July. The drop-offs included a child from Iowa and a Michigan child who was driven from there by his mother.
Lawmakers plan to take up the issue in January.