Leaving Congress: The Changing Face of the 110th

Congress is going to look a lot different in January, 2009, with the number of seats up for grabs growing almost weekly.

So far, 44 congressmen and women — mostly Republicans — have left, are leaving or have died since the beginning of the 110th Congress.

The Senate isn't seeing as much change, but all the change so far is Republican: Five senators won't seek re-election, one retired and one died.

And slim margins in both chambers will mean a pitched battle in November.

Compiled below is the updated list of the seats that will definitely have a different face next year when the 111th Congress convenes (Updated 6/19/08).

In the House ...

Those who have left, leaving, or have died, by state:

Alabama: Rep. Bud Cramer (D). Retiring

Alabama: Rep. Terry Everett (R). Retiring

Arizona: Rep. Rick Renzi (R). Retiring and under federal indictment.

Arizona: Rep. John Shadegg (R). NOT Retiring: Convinced by colleagues to reverse earlier decision to not seek re-election

California: Rep. John Doolittle (R). Retiring

California: Rep. Duncan Hunter (R). Retiring

California: Rep. Tom Lantos (D). Died. Rep. Jackie Speier (D) sworn in after winning special election

California: Rep. Juanita Millender-McDonald (D). Died. Laura Richardson (D) seated after August 2007 special election

Colorado: Rep. Tom Tancredo (R). Retiring

Colorado: Rep. Mark Udall (D). Vacating seat to run for Senate

Florida: Rep. Dave Weldon (R). Retiring

Georgia: Rep. Charlie Norwood (R). Died. Paul Broun (R) seated in July 2007 special election

Illinois: Rep. Dennis Hastert (R). Resigned. Bill Foster (D) sworn in after winning March special election

Illinois: Rep. Ray Lahood (R). Retiring

Illinois: Rep. Jerry Weller (R). Retiring

Indiana: Julia Carson (D). Died. Carson's grandson, Andre Carson (D), seated in special election

Louisiana: Rep. Richard Baker (R). Resigning. Don Cazayoux (D), wins May special election

Louisiana: Rep. Bobby Jindal (R). Elected Governor. Steve Scalise (R) wins May special election

Louisiana: Rep. Jim McCrery (R). Retiring

Maine: Rep. Tom Allen (D). Vacating seat to run for Senate

Maryland: Rep. Wayne Gilchrest (R). Defeated in Republican primary

UPDATED JUNE 19: Maryland: Rep. Al Wynn (D). Defeated in February Democratic primary by Donna Edwards. Wynn retired before end of term, allowing Edwards to compete in June special election, which she won. Edwards sworn in

Massachusetts: Rep. Martin Meehan (D). Resigned. Niki Tsongas (D) seated in October 2007 special election

Minnesota: Rep. Jim Ramstad (R). Retiring

Mississippi: Rep. Chip Pickering (R). Retiring

Mississippi: Rep. Roger Wicker (R). Appointed to Senate.Travis Childers (D) seated after May 2008 special election

Missouri: Rep. Kenny Hulshof (R). Vacating seat to run for governor

New Jersey: Rep. Mike Ferguson (R). Retiring

New Jersey: Rep. Jim Saxton (R). Retiring

New Mexico: Rep. Steve Pearce (R). Vacating seat to run for Senate

New Mexico: Rep. Tom Udall (D). Vacating seat to run for Senate

New Mexico: Rep. Heather Wilson (R). Vacating seat to run for Senate

New York: Rep. Vito Fossella (R). Retiring

New York: Rep. Mike McNulty (D). Retiring

New York: Rep. Thomas Reynolds (R). Retiring

New York: Rep. Jim Walsh (R). Retiring

Ohio: Rep. Paul Gillmor (R). Died. Robert Latta (R) seated in December 2007 special election

Ohio: Rep. David Hobson (R). Retiring

Ohio: Rep. Deborah Pryce (R). Retiring

Ohio: Rep. Ralph Regula (R). Retiring

Oregon: Rep. Darlene Hooley (D). Retiring.

Pennsylvania: Rep. John Peterson (R). Retiring

Virginia: Rep. Jo Ann Davis (R). Died. Robert Wittman (R) seated after December 2007 special election

Virginia: Rep. Tom Davis (R). Retiring

Wyoming: Rep. Barbara Cubin (R). Retiring

In the Senate ...

Those who have left, leaving, or have died, by state:

Colorado: Sen. Wayne Allard (R). Retiring

Idaho: Sen. Larry Craig (R). Retiring

Mississippi: Sen. Trent Lott (R) Retired. Rep. Roger Wicker (R) seated by gubernatorial appointment

Nebraska: Sen. Chuck Hagel (R). Retiring

New Mexico: Sen. Pete Domenici (R). Retiring

Virginia: Sen. John Warner (R). Retiring

Wyoming: Sen. Craig Thomas (R). Died. John Barrasso (R) seated by gubernatorial appointment