WAVERLY, Va. – The "civil remedial fees" that took effect Sunday for convictions of certain traffic offenses. They are levied in addition to existing court-imposed fines, costs, license restrictions or jail time, and can only be collected from Virginia drivers license holders:
—Driving on a suspended license: $750 in three annual installments of $250.
—Reckless driving: $1,050 in three annual installments of $350.
—Driving under the influence: $2,250 in three annual installments of $750.
—Other traffic misdemeanors: $900 in three annual installments of $300.
—Driving-related felonies: $3,000 in three annual installments of $1,000.
—Demerit points: A fee of $100 is collected annually from drivers with eight or more demerit points on their records. An additional $75 is collected for every point beyond eight up to a maximum of $700. Only points accrued since July 1 count toward the total.
Points vary by offense. For example, speeding 9 mph or less is three demerit points; speeding 10 mph or more over the limit is four points. Speeding demerits remain on a driver's record for five years.
Click here to read more about the law on the Virginia Legislative Information System.