Fast Facts: Pakistani Tribal Areas

Tribal areas in Pakistan

- The tribal lands in Pakistan are known as Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

- The semi-autonomous tribal lands consist of seven parts called "agencies."

- As many as 300 madrassas, or Muslim schools, operate in tribal areas.

- Historically, Islamabad has exercised limited authority over the tribal agencies.

- The tribal lands joined Pakistan rather than India after the former gained independence in 1947.

Source: Council on Foreign Relations