Detroit Shock Wins WNBA Title

The Detroit Shock came back one last time and made off with their second WNBA championship in four years.

Deanna Nolan scored 10 of her 24 points during a game-changing 18-3 run to open the second half and the Shock won the title with an 80-75 victory over the defending champion Sacramento Monarchs in the deciding Game 5 on Saturday.

It was title No. 2 for Nolan, fellow All-Star Cheryl Ford and captain Swin Cash, but it was the first WNBA championship for Katie Smith, one of the best players in the history of U.S. women's basketball. Smith scored in double figures in four of the five games of the series, including 17 Saturday.

She hurled the ball high in the air as time expired.

In the first half the Shock were outplayed in much the same way they were during decisive losses in Games 1 and 3. But they came on strong when it counted.

Trailing by eight at the half, Detroit made its first four shots of the third quarter and clamped down defensively, causing Sacramento to miss 17 of its 19 attempts in the period.

Click here for complete sports coverage from