Culver, Hartsuch Claim Victories in Iowa Elections

Chet Culver has won a slender victory over rival Mike Blouin for the Democratic gubernatorial nomination.

Republican Congressman Jim Nussle claimed an uncontested G-O-P nomination.

With 99 percent of precincts reporting, Culver had 39 percent of the votes. Blouin had 34 percent. State Representative Ed Fallon 26 percent, while Sioux City engineer Sal Mohamed had one percent.

Culver vowed an aggressive campaign, beginning quickly.

Nussle, who is vacating his seat in Iowa's 1st Congressional District, vowed the same. He planned to begin stumping today (Wednesday), flying around the state with other Republican statewide nominees.

The race represented a rare chance for Iowa voters to pick a new governor after having just three governors in the past 38 years.

In the Congressional race, a Republican five-term Senator and a two G-O-P House members lost their bids for another term in the Statehouse last night.

Senator Maggie Tinsman, a Bettendorf Republican, lost in a close race to David Hartsuch, a Bettendorf doctor.

In the House, Bettendorf Republican Joe Hutter, a retired police officer, lost his bid for a third term, losing the primary race to Linda Miller, a former nurse and now a fundraising consultant.

Paul Wilderdyke, of Woodbine, a community relations manager with Iowa Telecom lost to Matt Windschitl, of Missouri Valley. The winner will face Democrat Janice Doumakes Creasman, of Logan.

Senator Matt McCoy, a Democrat from Des Moines won his primary and will run against Republican Nicholas Van Patten, of Des Moines, in November.

Republican Larry Noble easily beat Douglas Halsted for the right to oppose Democrat Merle Johnson in former Senator Jeff Lamberti's district in November. Lamberti vacated the seat to run for Congress.

The central Iowa House District 66 had four Democrats seeking to fill the seat vacated by Ed Fallon, a seven-term Democrat, who sought his party's nomination in a four-way race for the Democratic nomination for governor.