Sign in to comment!


Fast Facts: 59th Cannes Film Festival Winners

Awards given Sunday at the 59th Cannes Film Festival, selected by a nine-member jury headed by Hong Kong director Wong Kar-wai:

—Palme d'Or (Golden Palm): "The Wind That Shakes the Barley," Ken Loach, Britain.

—Grand Prize: "Flanders," Bruno Dumont, France.

—Jury Prize: "Red Road," Andrea Arnold, Britain.

—Best Director: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, "Babel," Mexico.

—Best Actors: Jamel Debbouze, Samy Naceri, Roschdy Zem, Sami Bouajila, Bernard Blancan, "Days of Glory," Algeria.

—Best Actresses: Penelope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Duenas, Blanca Portillo, Yohana Cobo, Chus Lampreave, "Volver," Spain.

—Best Screenplay: "Volver," Pedro Almodovar, Spain.

—Golden Camera (first-time director): "A Fost Sau N-A Fost?," Corneliu Porumboiu, Romania.

—Best short film: "Sniffer," Bobbie Peers, Norway.