Presidents' Day Quiz

Did you really pay attention in history class? Take the Fox Fan Presidents' Day Quiz and test your knowledge. Don't worry, no one will know your score but you!

1) Which president made history by appointing the first African-American Supreme Court Justice, Thurgood Marshall?

a) John F. Kennedy

b) Lyndon B. Johnson

c) Dwight D. Eisenhower

d) Richard Nixon

2) Who was the only president never to marry?

a) James Buchanan

b) Calvin Coolidge

c) Grover Cleveland

d) Herbert Hoover

3) Who was the first president to be inaugurated in Washington, D.C.?

a) George Washington

b) John Adams

c) Thomas Jefferson

d) John Quincy Adams

4) Which president caught pneumonia after his 1 hour, 40 minute inaugural address and died one month later? (Hint: He was the first to die in office.)

a) James Buchanan

b) John Tyler

c) James Monroe

d) William Henry Harrison

5) Who was the only president to leave the White House and return for a second term, 4 years later?

a) Zachary Taylor

b) Theodore Roosevelt

c) Grover Cleveland

d) Woodrow Wilson

6) Who was the oldest man to be elected president?

a) Jimmy Carter

b) Ronald Reagan

c) Martin Van Buren

d) William Howard Taft

7) The famous slogan, "He kept us out of war," refers to which president?

a) Franklin D. Roosevelt

b) William J. Clinton

c) Woodrow Wilson

d) Warren G. Harding

8) Who was the first president to resign from office?

a) Gerald Ford

b) Chester Arthur

c) Calvin Coolidge

d) Richard Nixon

9) Which president is responsible for making Thanksgiving an annual holiday?

a) Franklin Pierce

b) Abraham Lincoln

c) Andrew Johnson

d) Ulysses S. Grant

10) Which president weighed more than 300 pounds, and had a special bathtub big enough to hold four men installed in the White House?

a) William Howard Taft

b) Millard Fillmore

c) Herbert Hoover

d) Martin Van Buren


1) b) Lyndon B. Johnson

2) a) James Buchanan

3) c) Thomas Jefferson

4) d) William Henry Harrison

5) c) Grover Cleveland

6) b) Ronald Reagan

7) c) Woodrow Wilson

8) d) Richard Nixon

9) b) Abraham Lincoln

10) a) William Howard Taft