Timeline: Inaugural Parade History

Presidents have celebrated their inaugurations in different ways since the first was sworn in in 1789. Here's a look at some of the highlights:

1789: First inaugural parade takes place as George Washing takes Oath in New York City.

1801: The first inaugural parade in the nation’s capitol Washington D.C. occurs when Thomas Jefferson is sworn in.

1809: The first formally organized parade takes place with the inauguration of James Madison, when he was escorted by cavalry to the Capitol.

1841: Floats make their first appearance in the inaugural parade with the swearing in of William Henry Harrison. Clubs, military bands and college students join the president in the march, setting future precedent.

1865: Blacks march for the first time during Abraham Lincoln’s second inauguration.

1873: Focus shifts from the procession to the Capitol to the post-inaugural procession when President Grant starts the tradition of reviewing the parade at the White House.

1917: Women take part in the parade during Woodrow Wilson’s second inauguration.

1921: Warren G. Harding is the first president to ride in the procession in a car.

1949: Parade is televised for the first time with the inauguration of Harry S. Truman.

1953: Dwight D. Eisenhower sets the record for largest and longest parade with 73 bands, 59 floats, horses, elephants and civilian and military vehicles. It lasted for 4 hours and 32 minutes.

1977: Jimmy Carter breaks precedent by walking the parade route from the Capitol to the White House with wife Rosalynn and daughter Amy.

1985: Parade is cancelled for the first time ever due to frigid temperatures at the start of Ronald Reagan’s second term.