Fast Facts: Tuesday's Schedule

Following is Tuesday's podium schedule for the Democratic National Convention: 

4:00 pm to 7:00 p.m.

Call to Order

The Honorable Bill Richardson: Governor of New Mexico, Permanent Chair, Democratic National Convention


The Reverend Ernest “Gunny” Branch: Sermon on the Mount, Baptist Church, Roxbury, Massachusetts

Presentation of Colors

Pledge of Allegiance

Steve Daniels: Carl Junction, Missouri

National Anthem

Jim Garrity: President, Local Firefighters Union 1691, Boston, Massachusetts

Platform Approval 

Representative Robert Matsui: U.S. House of Representatives, California

Lois Murphy: Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, Pennsylvania

The Honorable Allyson Schwartz: Pennsylvania State Senate, Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, Pennsylvania

Jim Stork: Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, Florida

Patty Wetterling: Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives, Minnesota

Elizabeth Cavendish: Interim President, NARAL Pro-Choice America  

The Honorable John Tanner: U.S. House of Representatives, Tennessee 

The Honorable Linda Sanchez: U.S. House of Representatives, California

The Honorable Nita Lowey: U.S. House of Representatives, New York

The Honorable Diana DeGette: U.S. House of Representatives, Colorado

The Honorable Earl Blumenauer: U.S. House of Representatives, Oregon  

The Honorable Jon Corzine: United States Senate, New Jersey

The Honorable Nancy Farmer: Treasurer of Missouri, Candidate for the United States Senate, Missouri

In Memoriam

The Honorable Tom Carper: United States Senate, Delaware

The Honorable Adam Smith: U.S. House of Representatives, Washington

The Honorable Jesse Jackson, Jr.: U.S. House of Representatives, Illinois

Deb Callahan: President, League of Cbnservation Voters

David Passafaro: President, Boston 2004 Host Committee

The Honorable Douglas Palmer: Mayor of Trenton, New Jersey

James Hoffa: President, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

The Honorable Joe Manchin III: Secretary of State, West Virginia, Candidate for Governor, West Virginia

The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius: Governor of Kansas

Denise Stokes: AIDS Educational Consultant, Ellenwood, Georgia

The Honorable Donald Plusquellic: Mayor of Akron, Ohio

The Honorable John Baldacci: Governor of Maine

The Honorable Diane Denish: Lieutenant Governor of New Mexico

The Honorable Jeff Bingaman: United States Senator, New Mexico   

Performance by Peter, Paul and Mary

Reg Weaver: President, National Education Association

The Honorable John Dingell: U.S. House of Representatives, Michigan

The Honorable Kwame Kilpatrick: Mayor of Detroit, Michigan

7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Gavel In by “Gavel In” Contest Winners 

Kristen Turner: age 13, Boston, Massachusetts

Steven Ruperto: age 18, Moon, Pennsylvania

Kids for Kerry:Representatives from Kids for Kerry, Boston chapter

Nubia Smith Whitaker: age 12, will speak on their behalf

Benjamin McKenzie: Actor, “The O.C.”

City Youth Dance Ensemble

Tribute to Fannie Lou Hamer

Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee: Actors

The Honorable Bennie Thompson: U.S. House of Representatives, Mississippi

Dr. Maya Angelou: Poet and Activist

Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party Members

Freedom Singers:  “This Little Light of Mine”

The Honorable Mike Honda: U.S. House of Representatives, California

The Reverend Dr. James Forbes: Senior Minister, Riverside Church, New York, New York

Gavel to Order

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen: Former Governor of New Hampshire

National Anthem via satellite from the Tohono O’odham Nation, Arizona

Michael Enis and Alicia Chiles:  The anthem will be sung in the traditional Tohono O’odham language  

The Honorable Edward Kennedy:  United States Senator, Massachusetts, Honorary Chair, Democratic National Committee

Satellite feed from Chicago, Illinois

The Honorable Richard Gephardt: U.S. House of Representatives, Missouri

The Honorable Tom Daschle:  United States Senate, South Dakota, Democratic Leader

Satellite feed from Des Moines, Iowa

The Honorable Carol Mosley-Braun: Former United States Senator, Illinois

9:00 pm to 11:00 pm

The Honorable Howard Dean: Former Governor of Vermont

Satellite from the Tohono O’odham Nation, Arizona

Christie Vilsack: First Lady of Iowa

The Honorable Janet Napolitano: Governor of Arizona

The Honorable Richard Durbin: United States Senator, Illinois

Barack Obama: Candidate for the United States Senate, Illinois

Satellite feed from Chicago, Illinois

The Honorable Jim Langevin: U.S. House of Representatives, Rhode Island

Ron Reagan

Kids for Kerry Founder Ilana Wexler: Age 12, Oakland, California

Performance by Children’s Voices of Greater Boston

Chris Heinz

Teresa Heinz Kerry



Imam Yahya Hendi: Muslim Chaplin, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.