Homeland Security Alert Codes Explained

The five levels of terrorism alerts outlined by the Department of Homeland Security, as well as recommended government and private-sector responses:

RED: Severe risk of terrorist attacks.

--Assign emergency response personnel and preposition specially trained teams.

--Monitor, redirect or constrain transportation systems.

--Close public and government facilities.

--Increase or redirect personnel to address critical emergency needs.

ORANGE: High risk of terrorist attacks.

--Coordinate necessary security efforts with armed forces or law enforcement agencies.

--Take additional precaution at public events.

--Prepare to work at an alternate site or with a dispersed work force.

--Restrict access to essential personnel only.

YELLOW: Elevated condition. Significant risk of terrorist attacks.

--Increase surveillance of critical locations.

--Coordinate emergency plans with nearby jurisdictions.

--Assess further refinement of protective measures within the context of the current threat information.

--Implement, as appropriate, contingency and emergency response plans.

BLUE: Guarded condition. General risk of terrorist attack.

--Check communications with designated emergency response or command locations.

--Review and update emergency response procedures.

--Provide the public with necessary information.

GREEN: Low risk of terrorist attacks.

--Refine and exercise planned protective measures.

--Ensure emergency personnel receive training.

--Assess facilities for vulnerabilities and take measures to reduce them.