FBI Directors

Published July 05, 2001

| Associated Press

Robert Mueller would be the ninth director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, if confirmed by the Senate. The others, and their terms in office, are:

--William J. Flynn (1919-1921)

--William J. Burns (1921-1924)

--J. Edgar Hoover (1924-1972)

--L. Patrick Gray (1972-1973)

--Clarence M. Kelley (1973-1978)

--William H. Webster (1978-1987)

--William S. Sessions (1987-1993)

--Louis J. Freeh (1993-2001) (FBI)