Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, Nov. 2
SITE: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval
CAPACITY: 122,377 (grandstand seating)
RADIO: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 3:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Nov. 2/12:05 p.m. ET
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Kevin Harvick (not defending)
RUNNER-UP: Ryan Blaney
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 3)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
QUALIFYING RECORD: Jeff Green, 2002 (193.493 mph)
RACE RECORD: Kyle Busch, 2008 (151.707 mph)
2012 Finish
1Kevin Harvick36Austin Dillon4
2Ryan Blaney197Sam Hornish Jr14
3Kyle Busch18Justin Allgaier17
4Ricky Stenhouse Jr59Kevin Swindell20
5Denny Hamlin910Joey Logano7
2012 O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 141.919 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 6 mins., 50 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.628 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 22 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 11 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (183.051 mph)
Past O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Kevin Harvick (3) -- Chevrolet -- 141.919 mph
2011 -- Trevor Bayne (10) -- Ford -- 143.464 mph
2010 -- Carl Edwards (3) -- Ford -- 142.270 mph
2009 -- Kyle Busch (6) -- Toyota -- 126.790 mph
2008 -- Kyle Busch (4) -- Toyota -- 140.900 mph
2007 -- Kevin Harvick (4) -- Chevrolet -- 144.212 mph
2006 -- Kevin Harvick (4) -- Chevrolet -- 145.710 mph
2005 -- Kevin Harvick (3) -- Chevrolet -- 138.019 mph
Past O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Kyle Busch -- 3
2011 -- Elliott Sadler -- 9
2010 -- James Buescher -- 37
2009 -- Matt Kenseth -- 4
2008 -- Carl Edwards -- 2
2007 -- David Reutimann -- 18
2006 -- Mark Martin -- 4
2005 -- Ryan Newman -- 16
Last Race Results
RACE: Dollar General 300 (Oct. 11)
SITE: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, N.C.
MILES: 300
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Austin Dillon
THIRD: Sam Hornish Jr.
FOURTH: Kevin Harvick
FIFTH: Matt Kenseth
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 14 mins., 53 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 133.449 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.459 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 29 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 14 among 10 drivers
LAP LEADERS: K. Busch 1-6; J. Logano 7-21; S. Hornish Jr 22-48; J. Logano
49-49; A. Dillon 50-52; K. Swindell 53-53; T. Bayne 54-54; S.
Hornish Jr 55-90; M. Kenseth 91-104; K. Harvick 105-112; R. Smith
113-140; K. Larson 141-157; K. Busch 158-179; S. Hornish Jr
180-192; K. Busch 193-200.
O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/TBA
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/G&K Services
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Shore Lodge
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/FlexSeal
5Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Roush Fenway RAcing
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Lionel Racing Golden
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Wurth
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
16Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Olive Branch, MS)Ford/Zest
18Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Toyota/Game Stop
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/Tweaker Energy Shot
20Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/Dollar General
22Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Ford/Discount Tire
23Robert Richardson Jr. (McKinney, TX)Chevrolet/Willbros
24Ryan Ellis (Ashburn, VA)Toyota/TBA
30Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/QualComm
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/NTT Data
33Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Wesco
40T.J. Bell (Reno, NV)Chevrolet/Redneck Heaven Restaurant
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Pilot Travel Centers
44Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Toyota/Takagi Tankless Water Heaters
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
54Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
55David Starr (Houston, TX)Chevrolet/Chasco Constructors
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/KMC Wheels
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Dodge/TBA
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
79Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Bell Trucks America
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/SWM/
89Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC)Chevrolet/Racing with Jesus
98Kevin Swindell (Germantown, TN)Ford/Carroll Shelby Motors
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/Microsoft Windows
Leading Contenders (Finish last eight years)
Kyle Busch5322WonWon2---3
Ricky Stenhouse Jr---------------1164
Denny Hamlin198314------25
Austin Dillon---------------------6
Sam Hornish Jr------31---------77
Justin Allgaier---------212513148
Elliott Sadler9---24---------911
Brian Scott---------------321222
Brad Keselowski---2967535---
Matt Kenseth6265---4---------
Trevor Bayne------------1312Won---
Regan Smith3320------------------
Parker Kligerman---------------34------
Kyle Larson------------------------
Mover of the Week
James Buescher - started 30 and finished 11
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - finished 1
The O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway is the 31st race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

There have been 25 Nationwide races held at Texas, including one event per season from 1997-2004 and two each year since.

Mark Martin won the inaugural Nationwide race at Texas on April 5, 1997.

Kyle Busch holds the record for most Nationwide wins at Texas with six. Busch won the spring race there in April. Kevin Harvick has the second most victories at this track with five. Harvick is not entered in this weekend's race.

Jack Roush has the most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Texas with eight, followed by Joe Gibbs with six.

Two races at Texas have been won from the pole position: Busch (April 2009) and Carl Edwards (April 2011).

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide event at this track happened in April 2007 when Matt Kenseth beat Denny Hamlin to the finish line by just 0.128 seconds.

Three active drivers scored their first career Nationwide wins at Texas: Dale Earnhardt Jr. (April 4, 1998), Kurt Busch (April 8, 2006) and Trevor Bayne (November 5, 2011). Earnhardt also claimed his first Cup Series victory at this track (April 2, 2000).

Two drivers on the entry list for this race claimed their maiden Nationwide poles at Texas: Denny Hamlin (April 8, 2006) and Alex Bowman (April 12, 2013).

The penultimate race of the season is the Nov. 9 Service Master 200 at Phoenix International Raceway. Joey Logano won last year's event there.

10/29 15:17:32 ET

As of October 29, 2013, at 03:17 PM ET