Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - Kentucky 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, Sept. 21
SITE: Kentucky Speedway -- Sparta, Ky.
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval
CAPACITY: 107,000 (Grandstand seating)
RADIO: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 7:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Sept. 21/4:35 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Sam Hornish Jr.
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (finished 1)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
QUALIFYING RECORD: Carl Edwards, 2005 (181.287 mph)
RACE RECORD: Austin Dillon, 2012 (151.643 mph)
2012 Finish
1Austin Dillon16Cole Whitt15
2Sam Hornish Jr37Michael Annett5
3Brendan Gaughan68Justin Allgaier10
4Drew Herring49Ryan Blaney20
5Elliott Sadler810Brad Sweet13
2012 Kentucky 300 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 137.492 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 10 mins., 55 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.059 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 11 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (177.264 mph)
Past Kentucky 300 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Austin Dillon (1) -- Chevrolet -- 137.492 mph
Past Kentucky 300 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Austin Dillon -- 1
Last Race Results
RACE: Dollar General 300 (Sept. 14)
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway -- Joliet, Ill.
MILES: 300
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Joey Logano
THIRD: Sam Hornish Jr.
FOURTH: Austin Dillon
FIFTH: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 16 mins., 34 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 131.804 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.615 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 27 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 4 among 4 drivers
LAP LEADERS: K. Busch 1-25; J. Clements 26; D. Earnhardt Jr 27-28; J. Logano
29-30; K. Busch 31-200.
Kentucky 300 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/TBA
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Shore Lodge
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Kevin Lepage (Shelburne, VT)Chevrolet/
5Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/Sports Clips
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Alliance Truck Rental
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
18Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Joe Gibbs Racing
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
20Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
21Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
22Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Discount Tire
23Harrison Rhodes (High Point, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
24Ken Butler (Lilburn, GA)Toyota/TBA
30Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Worx
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Clear Men
33Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Chevrolet/Rheem/Menards
34Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Chevrolet/Arrowhead
40Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
42T.J. Bell (Reno, NV)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Flying J Travel Plaza
44Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
46Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
50Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/Value Lighting
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
54Drew Herring (Benson, NC)Toyota/Monster Energy
55Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM)Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Bandit Chippers
79Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC)Ford/Keen's Parts
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/Lest Buildings
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/TBA
Leading Contenders (Finish last year)
Austin DillonWon
Sam Hornish Jr.2
Drew Herring4
Elliott Sadler5
Justin Allgaier8
Ryan Blaney9
Brian Scott11
Regan Smith---
Brian Vickers---
Trevor Bayne---
Kyle Larson---
Matt Crafton---
Mover of the Week
Matt Kenseth - started 18 and finished 7
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Austin Dillon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Joey Logano) - finished 2
The Kentucky 300 at Kentucky Speedway is the 27th race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

Located roughly 40 miles southwest of Cincinnati, Kentucky Speedway is a 1.5- mile oval with 14 degrees of banking in all of its turns, as well as 8 degrees of banking on both the frontstretch and backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,662 feet, and the backstretch measures 1,600 feet.

There have been 14 Nationwide races held at Kentucky. The series has competed at this racetrack each year since 2001. A second date was added there, starting with the 2012 season.

Joey Logano holds the record for most Nationwide victories at Kentucky with three. Logano, whose wins there came consecutively from 2008-10, is not entered in this weekend's race since the Sprint Cup Series is competing at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Kevin Harvick won the inaugural Nationwide race at Kentucky, the Outback Steakhouse 300, on June 16, 2001.

Austin Dillon won both Nationwide races at Kentucky in 2012.

Richard Childress and Joe Gibbs share the record for most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Kentucky with three each.

Six of the 14 previous Nationwide races at Kentucky have been won from the pole position. In fact, five of the last seven events there have been won from the top starting spot.

The furthest back a driver has started and won a Nationwide event at Kentucky is 19th, accomplished by Brad Keselowski in June.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Kentucky occurred on June 16, 2002 when Todd Bodine beat Greg Biffle to the finish line by just 0.036 seconds.

In June 2012, Dillon led 192 of 200 laps and crossed the finish line 9.8 seconds ahead of his closest competitor, Kurt Busch, to claim his first win in the series at Kentucky.

Dillon is one of four drivers who scored their first career Nationwide wins at Kentucky. The others are: David Gilliland (2006), Stephen Leicht (2007) and Logano (2008).

The next race is the Sept. 28 5-Hour Energy 200 at Dover International Speedway. Joey Logano won last year's event there.

09/17 15:17:52 ET

As of September 17, 2013, at 03:18 PM ET