Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - STP 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, July 21
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway -- Joliet, Ill.
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval
CAPACITY: 70,000 (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 3 p.m. (ET)
QUALIFYING TIME: Sunday, July 21/11:05 a.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
POLE WINNER: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (finished 2)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
QUALIFYING RECORD: Ryan Newman, 2005 (186.611 mph)
RACE RECORD: Brad Keselowski, 2011 (148.637 mph)
2012 Finish
1Elliott Sadler156Austin Dillon2
2Ricky Stenhouse Jr.17Parker Kligerman5
3Justin Allgaier168Sam Hornish Jr.3
4Kenny Wallace119Cole Whitt8
5Michael Annett1410Ryan Truex9
2012 STP 250 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 130.929 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 18 mins., 10 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.331 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 25 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 13 among 8 drivers
POLE WINNER: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (176.916 mph)
Past STP 250 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Elliott Sadler (15) -- Chevrolet -- 130.929 mph
2011 -- Justin Allgaier (13) -- Chevrolet -- 141.807 mph
Past STP 250 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr. -- 2
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: CNBC Prime the Profit 200 (July 13)
SITE: New Hampshire Motor Speedway -- Loudon, N.H.
MILES: 225.35
LAPS: 213
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Brian Vickers
THIRD: Austin Dillon
FOURTH: Brian Scott
FIFTH: Michael Annett
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 8 min., 40 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 105.087 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.465 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 27 laps
LAP LEADERS: K. Busch 1-37; B. Vickers 38-40; M. Kenseth 41-46; B. Vickers
47-106; K. Busch 107-119; M. Kenseth 120-122; K. Busch 123-213.
STP 300 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Ken Butler (Lilburn, GA)Toyota/JW Demolition
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Fast Fixin'
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/Flex Seal
5Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Speedco
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11 *Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Alliance Truck Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
17Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK)Toyota/Keller Williams Realty
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
20Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
21Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
22Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Ford/Hertz
23Harrison Rhodes (High Point, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
24Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/Compassion International
30Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Worx
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/International
33Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Chevrolet/Menards/Rheem
37Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA)Dodge/
40Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/STP
44Chad Hackenbracht (New Phila., OH)Toyota/Tastee Apple Inc.
46J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/U.S. Petroleum Consultants
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
54Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Monster Energy
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/Valvoline NextGen
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Juan Carlos Blum (Guadalajara, Mex.)Chevrolet/Oleofino's
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
79Kyle Fowler (Smyrna, GA)Ford/TBA
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/TBA
89Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
92Dexter Stacey (Kahnawake, Canada)Ford/Maddie's Place
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/TBA
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last year)
Elliot Sadler11Won
Justin AllgaierWon3
Michael Annett95
Austin Dillon---6
Sam Hornish Jr---8
Brian Scott1711
Trevor Bayne3---
Joey Logano------
Regan Smith------
Brian Vickers------
Joey Coulter------
Kyle Larson------
Mover of the Week
Michael Annett - started 23 and finished 5
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Joey Logano
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - finished 1
The STP 300 at Chicagoland Speedway is the 18th race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

Chicagoland Speedway, a 1.5-mile racetrack, has 18 degrees of banking in all of its turns as well as 11 degrees of banking on the tri-oval and 5 degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 2,400 feet, and the backstretch measures 1,700 feet.

Construction of this racetrack, which is located roughly 40 miles southwest of downtown Chicago, began in August 1999. The first Nationwide race there, the Sam's Club 300, was held on July 14, 2001 and won by Jimmie Johnson.

There have been 14 Nationwide races held at Chicagoland, including one event per season from 2001-10 and then two each year since then.

Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick are the only drivers with multiple Nationwide victories at Chicagoland. Both drivers have won there twice. Busch and Harvick are not entered in this weekend's race.

Richard Childress has the most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Chicagoland with four, followed by Joe Gibbs with three.

No driver has won a Nationwide race from the pole position at Chicagoland. The furthest back a driver has started and won an event in the series there is 34th, accomplished by Justin Labonte, who is the son of two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Terry Labonte.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Chicagoland occurred one year ago when Elliott Sadler beat Ricky Stenhouse Jr. to the finish line by 0.331 seconds.

Two drivers on the entry list for this race made their Nationwide debuts last September at Chicagoland: Alex Bowman and Juan Carlos Blum.

Brian Scott scored his maiden pole in the series at Chicagoland on Sept. 17, 2011.

Three drivers posted their first career Nationwide victories at Chicagoland: Johnson (2001), Johnny Sauter (2002) and Casey Mears (2006). None of those drivers are entered in this race.

The next race is the July 27 Indiana 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Brad Keselowski won last year's inaugural event there.

07/16 19:08:27 ET

As of July 16, 2013, at 07:08 PM ET