Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - DuPont Pioneer 250 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 8
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval
CAPACITY: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 8 p.m. (ET)
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, June 8/5:05 p.m. ET
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (not defending)
RUNNER-UP: Elliott Sadler
POLE WINNER: Elliott Sadler (finished 2)
LAPS: 250
MILES: 218.75
QUALIFYING RECORD: Elliott Sadler, 2012 (135.141 mph)
RACE RECORD: Elliott Sadler, 2012 (115.662 mph)
2012 Finish
1Ricky Stenhouse Jr36Justin Allgaier5
2Elliott Sadler17Cole Whitt12
3Michael McDowell48Parker Kligerman10
4Austin Dillon69Darrell Wallace Jr.9
5Kurt Busch3110Brendan Gaughan13
2012 DuPont Pioneer 250 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 107.157 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 2 mins., 29 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.465 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 27 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 9 among 6 drivers
POLE WINNER: Elliott Sadler (133.911 mph)
Past DuPont Pioneer 250 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (3) -- Ford -- 107.157 mph
2011 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr (8) -- Ford -- 106.132 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Iowa John Deere Dealers 250 (2011), Pioneer Hi-Bred 250
Past DuPont Pioneer 250 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Elliott Sadler -- 2
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: 5-Hour Energy 200 (June 1)
SITE: Dover International Speedway -- Dover, Del.
MILES: 200
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Joey Logano
RUNNER-UP: Brian Vickers
THIRD: Matt Kenseth
FOURTH: Trevor Bayne
FIFTH: Kyle Busch
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (finished 8)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 47 mins., 58 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 111.145 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.576 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5for 28 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 9among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: A. Dillon 1-35; K. Busch 36-47; A. Dillon 48-52; J. Logano 53-81;
A. Dillon 82-84; T. Bayne 85-89; K. Busch 90-114; K. Kahne
115-128; K. Busch 129-163; J. Logano 164-200.
DuPont Pioneer 250 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/TBA
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)ChevroletTBA
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Shore Lodge
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
5Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Alliance Truck Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
20Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
22Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Ford/Discount Tire
23Harrison Rhodes (High Point, NC)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
24Ken Butler (Lilburn, GA)Toyota/TBA
29Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Toyota/U.S. Cellular
30Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Qualcomm
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Vizio-Hulu
33Max Papis (Como, Italy)Chevrolet/Menards
40Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/
42J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Flying J Travel Plaza
44Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Toyota/Tastee Apple Inc.
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
52Tim Schendel (Sparta, WI)Chevrolet/TBA
54Drew Herring (Benson, NC)Toyota/Monster Energy
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/TBA
74Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Chevrolet/Mike Harmon Racing
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
79Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Ford/Donate Life
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM FM Energy Wood & Pellet
89Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
92Dexter Stacey (Kahnawake, Canada)Ford/Maddie's Place
98Kevin Swindell (Germantown, TN)Ford/Carroll Shelby Engines
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Elliott Sadler52
Austin Dillon104
Justin Allgaier86
Brian Scott2711
Sam Hornish Jr.---12
Brad Sweet---13
Drew Herring12---
Joey Logano------
Regan Smith------
Brian Vickers------
Trevor Bayne------
Kyle Larson------
Mover of the Week
Jeffrey Earnhardt - started 33 and finished 21
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Sam Hornish Jr.
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - finished 5
The DuPont Pioneer 250 at Iowa Speedway is the 12th race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace led the design team for Iowa in the first- ever driver-designed racetrack. Wallace played an integral part of the overall design and layout of this track.

There have been six Nationwide races held at Iowa. The series competed there once each season from 2009-2010 and then twice each year since then. Brad Keselowski won the inaugural Nationwide race at this track, the U.S. Cellular 250, on Aug. 1, 2009.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won three races in a row at Iowa during his 2011-12 championship seasons in Nationwide. Stenhouse scored a season-sweep at this track in '11 and then followed up with another victory there in May 2012. Elliott Sadler snapped his winning streak at Iowa last August. Stenhouse is now a rookie in the Sprint Cup Series.

Sadler has won the pole for the last three Nationwide races at Iowa.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Iowa occurred on Aug. 6, 2011 when Stenhouse beat Carl Edwards by just 0.066 seconds.

Drew Herring is the only driver on the entry list for this race that made his Nationwide debut at Iowa. Herring's first start came there on July 31, 2010. He is driving the No. 54 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing in this event.

The next Nationwide race is the June 15 Alliance Truck Parts 250 at Michigan International Speedway. Joey Logano won last year's event there.

06/04 23:28:34 ET

As of June 4, 2013, at 11:28 PM ET