Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - Indy 250 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, July 28th
SITE: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (1909) -- Indianapolis, Indiana
TRACK: 2.5-mile oval - 3,330 feet (Frontstretch); 3,300 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 350,000 (257,325 Grandstand Seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Allen Bestwick, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
START TIME: 4:30 p.m. (ET)
LAPS: 100
MILES: 250
Last Race Results
RACE: STP 300 (July 22nd)
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway -- Joliet, Illinois
MILES: 301.5
LAPS: 201
WINNER: Elliott Sadler
RUNNER-UP: Ricky Stenhouse Jr
THIRD: Justin Allgaier
FOURTH: Kenny Wallace
FIFTH: Michael Annett
POLE WINNER: Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Finished 2nd)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 18 minutes, 10 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 130.929 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.331 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 25 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 13 among 8 drivers
LAP LEADERS: R. Stenhouse Jr. - pole; S. Hornish Jr. 1-6; R. Stenhouse Jr.
7-48; A. Dillon 49; C. Whitt 50-51; M. Bliss 52-55; R. Stenhouse
Jr. 56-59; S. Hornish Jr. 60-75; R. Stenhouse Jr. 76-107; M.
Annett 108; R. Stenhouse Jr. 109-165; E. Sadler 166-168; J.
Allgaier 169; E. Sadler 170-201.
Indy 250 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
1Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/
2Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Chevrolet/One Main Financial
3Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Advocare
4Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
6Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS)Ford/Sam's Club/Cargill
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/
08Kyle Fowler (Smyrna, GA)Ford/Randy Hill Racing
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TBA
11Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Dollar General
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Dodge/Alliance Truck Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
18Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/Sports Clips
19Tayler Malsam (Seattle WA)Toyota/G-Oil/Noah's Light Foundation
20Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Toyota/Game Stop
22Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hls, MI)Dodge/Discount Tire
23Robert Richardson Jr (McKinney, TX)Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe
24Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/Family Farmers
30James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/ABF
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
33Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI)Chevrolet/Menards
36Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Chevrolet/Seal Wrap
38Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
39Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC)Ford/
40Erik Darnell (Beach Park, FL)Chevrolet/TBA
41Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/TBA
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Pilot Flying J/M&M's Snack Mix
44Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TBA
46Chase Miller (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/The Motorsports Group
47Stephen Leicht (Asheville, NC)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
50T.J. Bell (Reno, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
51Ty Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Clements Automotive
52Tim Schendel (Sparta, WI)Chevrolet/ of Comm.
54Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/Koma Unwind
81Jason Bowles (Ontario, CA)Toyota/American Majority
86Kevin Lepage (Shelbourne, VT)Ford/TBA
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM/FM Energy Wood & Pellet
88Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Chevrolet/
89Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
98Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Ford/Shelby Engine Co.
99Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Toyota/Boost Mobile
Mover of the Week
Travis Pastrana - Started in 32nd position and finished 17th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Elliott Sadler
Darkhorse - Danica Patrick
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - Finished 27th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Austin Dillon) - Finished 6th
The Nationwide Series will run at Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the inaugural running of the Indy 250.

With 15 races remaining, Elliott Sadler has increased his lead in the race for the championship on the Nationwide Circuit. With three wins this season, including last week's STP 300, Sadler owns an 11-point advantage over Austin Dillon. His victory in Chicago was his fourth straight top-10 finish and seventh in his last nine starts.

What makes Sadler a great choice this week, he's raced 12 times at the Brickyard on the Sprint Cup circuit with a pair of top-five finishes and a pole.

Danica Patrick, currently ninth on the points list, returns to the Brickyard after several seasons on the open-wheel circuit. Although well back on the points list, Patrick has recorded nine top-15 finishes in 18 starts.

The next Nationwide Series race is the August 4 U.S. Cellular 250 at Iowa Speedway. Ricky Stenhouse Jr is the defending race winner.

07/24 15:57:00 ET

As of July 24, 2012, at 03:57 PM ET