Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - STP 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, July 22nd
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway (2001) -- Joliet, Illinois
TRACK: 1.5-mile tri-oval - 2,400 feet (Frontstretch); 1,700 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 69,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Allen Bestwick, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 3 p.m. (ET)/Green Flag: 3:16 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Carl Edwards
POLE WINNER: Aric Almirola (Finished 4th)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
QUALIFYING RECORD: Ryan Newman, 2005 (186.611 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Brad Keselowski, 2011 (148.637 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $1,188,087 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $82,868; 2nd Place - $57,125; 3rd Place - $45,818
2011 Finish
1Justin Allgaier136Reed Sorenson7
2Carl Edwards47Kenny Wallace15
3Trevor Bayne318Kelly Bires17
4Aric Almirola19Michael Annett11
5Jason Leffler1410Danica Patrick16
2011 STP 250 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 141.807 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 6 minutes, 56 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.719 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 18 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 21 among 12 drivers
POLE WINNER: Aric Almirola (Awarded pole due to fastest overall in practice)
Past STP 250 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Justin Allgaier (13th) -- Chevrolet -- 141.807 m.p.h.
Past STP 250 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: F.W. Webb 200 (July 14th)
SITE: New Hampshire Motor Speedway -- Loudon, New Hampshire
MILES: 211.6
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Brad Keselowski
RUNNER-UP: Kevin Harvick
THIRD: Austin Dillon
FOURTH: Sam Hornish Jr.
FIFTH: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
POLE WINNER: Brad Keselowski (Finished 1st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 58 minutes, 46 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 106.899 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.717 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 23 laps
LAP LEADERS: B. Keselowski 1-38; K. Kahne 39-81; A. Dillon 82; B. Keselowski
83-123; J. Bowles 124; B. Keselowski 125-154; K. Harvick 155-178;
B. Keselowski 179-200.
STP 300 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
2Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Chevrolet/Hunt Brothers Pizza
3Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Advocare
4Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
6Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS)Ford/Rancher's Reserve
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/
08Tim Andrews (Concord, NC)Ford/Randy Hill Racing
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TBA
11Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Dollar General
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Dodge/Alliance Truck Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
17Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK)Toyota/TBA
18Ryan Truex (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/Grime Boss
19Tayler Malsam (Seattle WA)Toyota/G-Oil/Noah's Light Found.
22Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Dodge/Discount Tire
23Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM)Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group
24Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville, GA)Chevrolet/West Virginia Miners
30James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/TBA
31 *Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
33Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Menards
38Brad Sweet (Grass Valley. CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
39Josh Richards (Shinnston, WV)Ford/NSW Kids
40Erik Darnell (Beach Park, FL)Chevrolet//TBA
41Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Chevrolet/
42Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Pilot Flying J
44Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/
46Chase Miller (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/The Motorsports Group
47Stephen Leicht (Asheville, NC)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
50T.J. Bell (Reno, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/Clements Automotive
52Tim Schendel (Sparta, WI)Chevrolet/TBA
54Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
71Matt Carter (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/Koma Unwind
75Charles Lewandoski (Stafford, CT)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
81Jason Bowles (Ontario, CA)Toyota/American Majority
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM/FM Energy Wood & Pellet
88Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Chevrolet/
89Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
99Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Toyota/Boost Mobile
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last year)
Justin AllgaierWon
Kenny Wallace7th
Michael Annett9th
Danica Patrick10th
Elliot Sadler11th
Ricky Stenhouse Jr14th
Ryan Truex20th
Kyle Busch---
Austin Dillon---
Sam Hornish Jr---
James Buescher---
Parker Kligerman---
Brendan Gaughan---
Brian Scott---
Mover of the Week
Amber Cope - Started in the 42nd position and finished 26th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Darkhorse - Austin Dillon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kevin Harvick) - Finished 2nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Justin Allgaier) - Finished 8th
Last season, Illinois-native Justin Allgaier won the inaugural STP 300 in a dramatic finish at Chicagoland Speedway.

Allgaier, who hails from Riverton, IL, located 160 miles southwest of this 1.5- mile track, grabbed the lead from Carl Edwards on the backstretch of the final lap when Edwards ran out of fuel. Allgaier's gas tank also went dry when he came out of turn four, but he managed to coast across the finish line in first.

Allgaier and Edwards last pitted with 62 laps remaining in the 200-lap race. Allgaier, who took tires and fuel on his final pit stop, chased down Edwards in the final laps. Edwards came in for fuel only on his last stop.

It was Allgaier's second career Nationwide win. His maiden victory came in March 2010 at Bristol. Currently fifth on the points list, Allgaier has posted four straight top-10 finishes and 11 in 17 starts.

Although this is the second STP 300, NASCAR's second circuit has been running a fall race at Chicagoland since 2001.

The Nationwide Series will run at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the first time with the July 28 Indiana 250.

07/17 14:11:42 ET

As of July 17, 2012, at 02:11 PM ET