Fox News - Fair & Balanced


NASCAR - Nationwide - Sargento 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 23rd
SITE: Road America (1955) -- Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
TRACK: 4.048-mile, 14-turn road course
CAPACITY: 150,000
ANNOUNCERS: Allen Bestwick, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 3:30 p.m. (ET)/Green Flag: 3:51 p.m. (ET)
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Reed Sorenson (Not Defending)
RUNNER-UP: Ron Fellows
POLE WINNER: Michael McDowell (Finished 12th)
LAPS: 50
MILES: 202.4
QUALIFYING RECORD: Michael McDowell, 2011 (109.381 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Reed Sorenson, 2011 (78.929 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $972,201 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $44,093; 2nd Place - $39,268; 3rd Place - $29,268
2011 Finish
1Reed Sorenson126Andrew Ranger21
2Ron Fellows57Michael Annett22
3Jacques Villeneuve38Ricky Stenhouse Jr8
4Elliott Sadler79Ricky Carmichael15
5Mike Wallace2510J.R. Fitzpatrick17
2011 Sargento 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 78.929 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 555 minutes, 24 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 14 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 12 among 8 drivers
POLE WINNER: Michael McDowell (109.381 m.p.h.)
Past Sargento 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Reed Sorenson (12th) -- Chevrolet -- 78.929 m.p.h. (race record)
2010 -- Carl Edwards (1st) -- Ford -- 68.501 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called Bucyrus 200 (2010-11).
Past Sargento 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Michael McDowell -- 12th
2010 -- Carl Edwards -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: Alliance Truck Parts 250 (June 16th)
SITE: Michigan International Speedway -- Brooklyn, Michigan
MILES: 250
LAPS: 125
WINNER: Joey Logano
RUNNER-UP: James Buescher
THIRD: Kurt Busch
FOURTH: Cole Whitt
FIFTH: Austin Dillon
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (Finished 5th)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 52 minutes, 48 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 132.979 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.208 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 14 among 10 drivers
LAP LEADERS: A. Dillon 1-4; C. Whitt 5-13; A. Dillon 14-20; J. Logano 21-27;
J. Clements 28; S. Hornish Jr. 29-49; P. Menard 50-57; J.
Buescher 58-59; P. Menard 60-88; C. Whitt 89; D. Patrick 90; S.
Hornish Jr. 91-94; J. Allgaier 95-98; E. Sadler 99-101; J. Logano
Sargento 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
2Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Chevrolet/Charter
3Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Advocare
4Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Chevrolet/Trade Bank
5Ron Fellows (Mississauga, Ontario)Chevrolet/AER Manufacturing
6Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/
08To Be AnnouncedFord/Black Cat Wireworks
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TBA
11Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Dollar General
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Dodge/Alliance Truck Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
18Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/Pizza Ranch
19Tayler Malsam (Seattle WA)Toyota/G-Oil/Ryobi
22Jacques Villeneuve (Quebec, Canada)Dodge/Discount Tire
23Bill Prietzel (Plymouth, WI)Chevrolet/TBA
24Benny Gordon (DuBois, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
26John Young (Discovery Bay, CA)Dodge/Eklekt Technologies Group
30Nelson Piquet Jr (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/TBA
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Miguel Paludo (New Silver, Brazil)Chevrolet/Duroline Brakes
33Max Papis (Como, Italy)Chevrolet/Menards
38Brad Sweet (Grass Valley. CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
39Josh Richards (Shinnston, WV)Ford/NSW Kids
40Erik Darnell (Beach Park, FL)Chevrolet/
41Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Ford/
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Pilot Flying J
44Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TBA
46Chase Miller (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/
47Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
50T.J. Bell (Reno, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/Clements Automotive
52Tim Schendel (Sparta, WI)Chevrolet/TBA
54Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
59Kyle Kelley (Huntington Beach, CA)Chevrolet/Jamison Eng./
70David Green (Owensboro, KY)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/Koma Unwind
75Kenny Habul (Etobicoke, Canada)Toyota/Sun Energy 1 Racing
81Jason Bowles (Ontario, CA)Toyota/American Majority
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM/FM Energy Wood & Pellet
88Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Chevrolet/Voodoo Ride
89Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
99To Be AnnouncedToyota/TBA
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Ron Fellows2nd2nd
Jacques Villeneuve25th3rd
Elliott Sadler---4th
Mike Wallace18th5th
Michael Annett24th7th
Ricky Stenhouse Jr26th8th
Michael McDowell33rd12th
Justin Allgaier35th19th
Max Papis---23rd
Kurt Busch------
Austin Dillon------
Sam Hornish------
Nelson Piquet Jr------
Danica Patrick------
Mover of the Week
Kurt Busch - Started in 15th position and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Austin Dillon
Darkhorse - Tayler Malsam
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brad Keselowski) - Finished 10th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jason Bowles) - Finished 19th
The Nationwide Series continues this week with the 14th of 33 races on the docket and good news for Nationwide regulars, Joey Logano is not in the field.

Logano, who's not eligible for the series title and is racing out west this week, has won five of 11 starts this year on this circuit, including the last two and four of his past five starts.

In addition, defending champion Reed Sorenson is racing Sprint Cup, so there will be no repeat winner at Road America. In nine Sprint starts, Sorenson has failed to crack the top-25.

Last year, however, was a different story, as Sorenson claimed his first Nationwide Series win in nearly four years after prevailing in a very confusing finish.

The race featured three green-white-checkered attempts for several wrecks in the closing laps. Sorenson's Turner Motorsports teammate, Justin Allgaier, held the lead on the final lap, but after the caution flag waved for an incident involving Aric Almirola, Allgaier ran out of fuel and stalled on the lengthy 4.048-mile road course.

Ron Fellows then passed Sorenson, and it appeared at first that Fellows took the lead. But NASCAR reviewed the finish several minutes after the conclusion of the race. NASCAR determined Fellows moved ahead of Sorenson when the yellow flag was in sight, and therefore, awarded the victory to Sorenson.

It was Sorenson's fourth career win in the series but his first since July 2007 at Gateway International Raceway.

At 4.048 miles, Road America is the longest track in NASCAR's national series. Saturday's race in Elkhart Lake represents the first of three road course races on the NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule over the next three months. Watkins Glen is up next in July and Circuit Gilles Villeneuve closes the road series out in August.

In 2010, Carl Edwards finally performed his celebratory back flip from his car for the first time in 2010 after winning the inaugural Sargento 200 (formerly called Bucyrus 200) Nationwide Series race at Road America.

Edwards dominated the race by leading 35 of 50 laps, but had to wrestle the lead away from Jacques Villeneuve after a restart with nine laps remaining. The seventh and final caution for an incident involving Stanton Barrett setup a three-lap shootout to the finish at the long 4.048-mile, 14-turn road course.

Villeneuve, a former Formula One world champion and Indianapolis 500 winner, ran second to Edwards until the Canadian driver suffered engine failure on the final lap and wound up finishing 25th. Fellows, also from Canada, took over the second spot, but finished 4.3 seconds behind Edwards.

The next Nationwide Series race is the June 29 Feed the Children 300 at Kentucky Speedway. Brad Keselowski won last year's race there.

06/19 13:49:25 ET

As of June 19, 2012, at 01:49 PM ET