Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - PGA Grand Slam of Golf Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, October 15th through Wednesday, October 16th
SITE: Port Royal Golf Course, Southampton, Bermuda
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones Sr (1970), Roger Rulewich (2008-redesign)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,845
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 418 yds10 - Par 4 350 yds
2 - Par 5 567 yds11 - Par 4 436 yds
3 - Par 3 148 yds12 - Par 4 383 yds
4 - Par 4 458 yds13 - Par 3 225 yds
5 - Par 4 380 yds14 - Par 4 393 yds
6 - Par 4 424 yds15 - Par 4 412 yds
7 - Par 5 517 yds16 - Par 3 235 yds
8 - Par 3 193 yds17 - Par 5 507 yds
9 - Par 4 368 yds18 - Par 4 431 yds
36 3,473 Yds35 3,372 Yds
Annual:  31st
Television:  TNT - Tuesday -- 4-7 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Wednesday -- 4-8 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Padraig Harrington
Runner-Up:  Webb Simpson
Tournament Record:  127 (Tiger Woods, 2002; Phil Mickelson, 2004)
Largest Match Win:  Davis Love III def. Jose Maria Olazabal, 6 & 5 (1999)
Closest Match Win:  Lee Janzen def. Mark O'Meara, 1-up (1998)
18-Hole Record:  59 (Phil Mickelson, 2004 - Poipu Bay Golf Club)
Course Record:  65 (Lucas Glover, 2009; Charl Schwartzel, 2011;
  Webb Simpson, 2012)
Total Purse:  $1,350,000
Shares:  1st - $600,000; 2nd - $300,000; 3rd - $250,000; 4th - $200,000
2012 Finish
Padraig Harrington133
Webb Simpson134
Bubba Watson139
Keegan Bradley139
Past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Padraig Harrington (133) -- Webb Simpson, Bubba Watson, Keegan Bradley
2011Keegan Bradley (138) -- Charl Schwartzel, Rory McIlroy, Darren Clarke
2010Ernie Els (137) -- David Toms, Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell
2009Lucas Glover (131) -- Angel Cabrera, Stewart Cink, Y.E. Yang
2008*Jim Furyk (136) -- Padraig Harrington, Retief Goosen, Trevor Immelman
2007*Angel Cabrera (136) -- Padraig Harrington, Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson
2006Tiger Woods (136) -- Jim Furyk, Geoff Ogilvy, Mike Weir
2005Tiger Woods (131) -- Phil Mickelson, Michael Campbell, Vijay Singh
2004Phil Mickelson (127) -- Vijay Singh, Retief Goosen, Todd Hamilton
2003Jim Furyk (135) -- Mike Weir, Shaun Micheel, Ben Curtis
2002Tiger Woods (127) -- Davis Love III, Justin Leonard, Rich Beem
2001Tiger Woods (132) -- David Toms, Retief Goosen, David Duval
2000*Tiger Woods (139) -- Vijay Singh, Tom Lehman, Paul Azinger
1999Tiger Woods def. Davis Love III, 3 & 2 -- Olazabal def. Lawrie, (inj)
1998Tiger Woods def. Vijay Singh, 2-up -- Janzen def. O'Meara, 1-up
1997Ernie Els (133) -- Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, Justin Leonard
1996Tom Lehman (134) -- Steve Jones, Nick Faldo, Mark Brooks
1995Ben Crenshaw (140) -- Steve Elkington, Corey Pavin, John Daly
1994Greg Norman (136) -- Nick Price, Ernie Els, Jose Maria Olazabal
1993Greg Norman (145) -- Paul Azinger, Lee Janzen, Bernhard Langer
1992*Nick Price (137) -- Tom Kite, Fred Couples, Nick Faldo
1991Ian Woosnam (135) -- Ian Baker-Finch, Payne Stewart, John Daly
1990Andy North (70) -- Craig Stadler, Payne Stewart, Curtis Strange
1989Curtis Strange (73) -- Craig Stadler, Ian Baker-Finch, Greg Norman
1988Larry Nelson (69) -- Larry Mize, Scott Simpson, Greg Norman
1987Not Held
1986Greg Norman (70) -- Fuzzy Zoeller, Jack Nicklaus, Bob Tway
1985Not Held
1984Not Held
1983Not Held
1982Bill Rogers (71) -- David Graham, Larry Nelson, Tom Watson
1981Lee Trevino (68) -- Tom Watson, Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros
1980Lanny Wadkins (71) -- Hale Irwin, David Graham, Fuzzy Zoeller
1979Gary Player/Andy North (73) -- Jack Nicklaus, John Mahaffey

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Padraig Harrington------------2nd2nd---------Won
Jason Dufner------------------------------
Justin Rose------------------------------
Adam Scott------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Justin Rose
Darkhorse - Padraig Harrington
Last Week's Pick to Win (Billy Horschel) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Rory Sabbatini) - Missed the cut
This event features the winners of the four major championships, The Masters, U.S. Open, British Open and PGA Championship. The 2-day tournament, which is sponsored by the PGA of America, has undergone changes in the last 22 years, expanding from 18 to 36 holes in 1991, becoming a match-play event in 1998 and returning to stroke play in 2000.

This year's field includes Masters champion Adam Scott, U.S. Open champion Justin Rose, PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner and defending champion Padraig Harrington. Harrington replaced British Open winner Phil Mickelson in the field.

The tournament will be held at Port Royal Golf Course for the fifth straight year. The Mid Ocean Club in Bermuda hosted in 2007 and 2008. Poipu Bay Resort in Hawaii hosted the previous 13 years (1994-2006). This tournament has been held at Oak Hill Country Club, Hazeltine National, Breakers West Golf Club, PGA National, Kemper Lakes, Kauai Lagoons and PGA West.

Last year, Harrington shot rounds of 66-67 to win by a single stroke over Webb Simpson. Harrington, who replaced British Open Champion Ernie Els, finished at 9-under 133.

In 2011, Keegan Bradley carded rounds of 67-71 to win by a single stroke over Charl Schwartzel. Bradley finished at 4-under 138 for the victory, the highest winning score since 2000.

In 2010, Ernie Els won after rallying to post a 2-under 69 in the second and final round. Els birdied three of his final five holes to finish at 5-under 137 -- one stroke ahead of David Toms, the first-round leader. Els was the only player to post two rounds in the 60s.

Lucas Glover carded rounds of 65-66 for a 2-day total in 2009 of 131, to capture this event. Glover, the 2009 U.S. Open champion, finished five shots ahead of 2009 Masters winner Angel Cabrera. Glover's 5-shot win was the largest since Tiger Woods defeated Phil Mickelson in 2005 by seven.

Jim Furyk outlasted Harrington in a playoff to capture his second PGA Grand Slam of Golf title in 2008. Trailing by one shot heading into the final hole, Furyk made birdie to force a playoff and then eagled from 6-feet to become only the fourth multiple winner of this event. With the win, Furyk joined Woods, Greg Norman and Andy North as the only players to win more than once. Furyk also captured the title in 2003.

In 2006, Woods came from three shots back of Furyk after day one to win this event for the seventh time in eight tries. He fired rounds of 70-66 to win by two over Furyk.

Mickelson set a new tournament record in 2004 with his second round 59, as he defeated Vijay Singh by five shots, tying the tournament record of 127. Mickelson, who trailed first-round leader Retief Goosen by three shots, shot a front-9 of 28, which included six birdies and an eagle. For the day, Mickelson had 11 birdies and one eagle, as he toured the Poipu Bay Course in just 24 putts.

In 2002, Woods set more records, as he shot a then course-record 61 for a tournament record of 127, defeating Davis Love III and Justin Leonard by a whopping 14 shots. Rich Beem, the 2002 PGA Champion, finished a distant fourth, 18 shots back. Woods was bogey-free that year, making 15 birdies and one eagle in his record-setting performance.

The PGA Tour is in Las Vegas this week for the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, where Ryan Moore is the defending champion.

10/15 11:56:35 ET

As of October 15, 2013, at 11:56 AM ET