Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - Wells Fargo Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 1st through Sunday, May 4th
SITE: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: George Cobb (1961), Arnold Palmer (1986),
         Tom Fazio (redesign - 1997, 2003)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,562
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 418 Yds10 - Par 5 598 Yds
2 - Par 3 178 Yds11 - Par 4 426 Yds
3 - Par 4 452 Yds12 - Par 4 456 Yds
4 - Par 4 483 Yds13 - Par 3 210 Yds
5 - Par 5 570 Yds14 - Par 4 345 Yds
6 - Par 3 250 Yds15 - Par 5 577 Yds
7 - Par 5 532 Yds16 - Par 4 508 Yds
8 - Par 4 350 Yds17 - Par 3 221 Yds
9 - Par 4 495 Yds18 - Par 4 493 Yds
36 3,728 Yds36 3,834 Yds
Annual:  12th
  Television - Golf Channel - Thursday -- 3-7 p.m. (et),
  - Thursday -- 7:30-11:30 p.m. (et) - replay,
  - Friday -- 3-7 p.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 9:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m. (et) - replay,
  - Saturday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Golf Channel - Saturday -- 9:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (et) - replay,
  - Sunday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Golf Channel - Sunday -- 9:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (et) - replay
Defending Champion:  Derek Ernst
Runner-Up:  David Lynn
Tournament Record:  272 (Anthony Kim, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  201 (Jonathan Byrd, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Pat Perez, 2011; Nick Watney, 2012)
Course Record:  62 (Rory McIlroy, 2010)
Total Purse:  $6,900,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,242,000; 2nd Place - $xxx,600; 3rd Place - $xxx,600
2013 Finish
Derek Ernst *280Ryan Moore283
David Lynn280Kyle Stanley283
Phil Mickelson281Kevin Streelman283
Robert Karlsson282Bo Van Pelt283
Lee Westwood282Six players at284

* - Won in Playoff

Past Wells Fargo Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013*Derek Ernst (280) -- David Lynn
2012*Rickie Fowler (274) -- Rory McIlroy, D.A. Points
2011*Lucas Glover (273) -- Jonathan Byrd
2010Rory McIlroy (273) -- Phil Mickelson
2009Sean O'Hair (277) -- Lucas Glover, Bubba Watson
2008Anthony Kim (272) -- Ben Curtis
2007Tiger Woods (275) -- Steve Stricker
2006*Jim Furyk (276) -- Trevor Immelman
2005*Vijay Singh (276) -- Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia
2004*Joey Sindelar (277) -- Arron Oberholser
2003David Toms (278) -- Vijay Singh, Robert Gamez, Brent Geiberger

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Wachovia Championship (2003-08),
Quail Hollow Championship (2009-10).

Top Contenders in the Field
Derek Ernst---------------------------Won
Phil MickelsonT-5T-7T-35T-3T-12T-52ndT-9T-263rd
Lee Westwood------mcT-61------T-38---T-5T-4
Rory McIlroy------------------WonmcT-2T-10
Nick Watney---T-1121stT-24T-40T-22T-22mc8thT-10
D.A. Points---mcmc------mcT-63mcT-2T-16
Jimmy Walker---mcmc---mc---mcT-68T-48T-22
Lucas GloverT-10mcT-4T-3469thT-2T-22WonmcT-27
Webb Simpson---------------mcmcT-214thT-32
Trevor Immelman------2ndT-14mcT-65T-22T-24mcT-58
Zach Johnsonmcmcmc84thT-25T-11T-51T-6T-69T-65
Rickie Fowler------------------6thT-16WonT-73
Hunter MahanmcmcwdmcT-12T-22T-17T-16T-53T-73
Jonathan Byrdmcmc---mcmcT-5mc2ndT-9T-80
Seung-Yul Noh------------------------T-9mc
Sean O'Hair---T-64mcwd---Wonmc---T-15mc
Bill Haas---T-22T-4mcmcT-22T-294thmcmc
Robert Streb---------------------------mc
Andrew Svoboda---------------------------mc
Jim Furyk---T-2Wonmc7thT-11T-7T-24T-26---
Vijay SinghT-10WonT-38T-7T-17mcmcT-9mc---
Justin Rose---T-44T-47---mcmc---T-28------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Justin Rose
Darkhorse - Jeff Overton
Last Week's Pick to Win (Rickie Fowler) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Russell Knox) - Missed the cut
Quite a stellar field is assembled this week, as the PGA Tour returns to North Carolina for the 12th straight year at the Wells Fargo Championship, the final tune-up before next week's Players Championship. Four of the top-12 players in the world are in the field - Phil Mickelson (9), Justin Rose (10), Rory McIlroy (11) and Zach Johnson (12). All four players are major championship winners.

Johnson is the only one of the four players that has won this season. He captured the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in January. Mickelson is still looking for his first top-10 finish on the PGA Tour this year. He has not won since the British Open last July. Mickelson has finished in the top-10 in seven of his 10 appearances at this event, having never missed the cut. Rose has not won since the U.S. Open last June. McIlroy is still seeking his first victory since 2012, although he finished tied for second at the Honda Classic in March.

Six of the 11 winners of this tournament have won major championships: David Toms, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, McIlroy and Lucas Glover. Only Joey Sindelar, Anthony Kim, Sean O'Hair, Rickie Fowler and Derek Ernst have not captured a major.

The final three holes at Quail Hollow Club, nicknamed the green mile, represents one of the toughest finishing stretches on tour. Last year, the par-4 16th played to a scoring average of 4.263; the par-3 17th played to a 3.238; and the par-4 18th hole played to a stroke average of 4.317.

Last year, Ernst parred the first playoff hole to defeat David Lynn. Ernst carded rounds of 67-71-72-70 to end at 8-under-par 280 with Lynn, the highest winning total in tournament history. The duo returned to the 18th for the playoff. Lynn's drive stopped in the rough near a creek, while Ernst split the fairway. Lynn dumped his second shot in a greenside bunker. Ernst, who started the week as the fourth alternate, knocked his approach within 14 feet of the hole. Lynn blasted across the green, then chipped to eight feet. He failed to convert his bogey effort. Ernst, whose birdie putt lipped out, tapped in for par and his first PGA Tour win. Ernst joined Fowler, McIlroy and Kim as players that made this event their first tour victory.

Glover 2-putted for par on the first playoff hole in 2011 to defeat Jonathan Byrd. Glover carded rounds of 67-68-69-69 to get in at 15-under-par 273. Glover became the first player in tournament history to record all four rounds in the 60s. Glover and Byrd played collegiate golf together at Clemson University.

In 2010, Northern Ireland's McIlroy fired a course-record, 10-under 62 in the final round to cruise to a 4-stroke win over Mickelson. McIlroy ended at 15-under-par 273. He made the cut on the number at plus-1 and posted 16-under on the weekend to earn his first PGA Tour title.

McIlroy's final-round 62 was the lowest finishing score by a winner since Brad Faxon fired a 61 at the 2005 Buick Championship. It was also the lowest in relation to par since Ryan Palmer shot the same score at the 2004 Funai Classic at Walt Disney World Resort. McIlroy became the first player to win after making the cut on the number since Chris Couch at the 2006 Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

Kim never let up in the final round in 2008. He closed with a 3-under 69 to roll to a 5-shot win over Ben Curtis, finishing his first PGA Tour victory at 16-under-par 272. Kim set the tournament records for margin of victory (five) and total score (272).

In 2004, Sindelar defeated Arron Oberholser in a playoff to win on the PGA Tour for the first time since the 1990 Hardee's Golf Classic. Sindelar's winless streak was 13 years and eight months. With his winners check of $1,008,000, Sindelar surpassed the $1 million mark in single-season earnings for the first time in his 21-year career.

The PGA Tour travels to Florida next week for the "fifth major," the Players Championship, where Tiger Woods captured the title last year, but will not be able to defend due to a back injury.

04/29 15:50:08 ET

As of April 29, 2014, at 03:50 PM ET