Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - Deutsche Bank Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, August 30th through Monday, September 2nd
SITE: TPC Boston, Norton, Massachusetts
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer (2002),
         Gil Hanse, Jim Wagner, Brad Faxon (2007 - redesign)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,214
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 365 yds10 - Par 4 425 yds
2 - Par 5 542 yds11 - Par 3 231 yds
3 - Par 3 208 yds12 - Par 4 461 yds
4 - Par 4 298 yds13 - Par 4 451 yds
5 - Par 4 466 yds14 - Par 4 495 yds
6 - Par 4 465 yds15 - Par 4 421 yds
7 - Par 5 600 yds16 - Par 3 161 yds
8 - Par 3 213 yds17 - Par 4 412 yds
9 - Par 4 472 yds18 - Par 5 528 yds
36 3,629 yds35 3,585 yds
Annual:  11th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday/Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 1-3 p.m. (et),
  NBC - Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Golf Channel - Monday -- 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (et),
  NBC - Monday -- 2-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Rory McIlroy
Runner-Up:  Louis Oosthuizen
Tournament Record:  262 (Vijay Singh, 2008; Charley Hoffman, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Louis Oosthuizen, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Tim Clark, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (Vijay Singh, 2006; Mike Weir, 2008)
Total Purse:  $8,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,440,000; 2nd Place - $864,000; 3rd Place - $544,000
2012 Finish
Rory McIlroy264Brandt Snedeker271
Louis Oosthuizen265Jeff Overton272
Tiger Woods266Adam Scott272
Dustin Johnson270Bryce Molder273
Phil Mickelson270Two players at274
Past Deutsche Bank Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Rory McIlroy (264) -- Louis Oosthuizen
2011*Webb Simpson (269) -- Chez Reavie
2010Charley Hoffman (262) -- Jason Day, Luke Donald, Geoff Ogilvy
2009Steve Stricker (267) -- Jason Dufner, Scott Verplank
2008Vijay Singh (262) -- Mike Weir
2007Phil Mickelson (268) -- Brett Wetterich, Tiger Woods, Arron Oberholser
2006Tiger Woods (268) -- Vijay Singh
2005Olin Browne (270) -- Jason Bohn
2004Vijay Singh (268) -- Adam Scott, Tiger Woods
2003Adam Scott (264) -- Rocco Mediate

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Rory McIlroy---------------------T-37---Won
Tiger WoodsT-7T-2T-40WonT-2---T-11T-11---3rd
Phil Mickelson------------WonT-73T-27T-25T-10T-4
Dustin Johnson------------------T-4T-57T-42T-4
Brandt Snedeker------------T-47T-27T-32T-5T-36th
Adam ScottWonT-2---T-50T-17T-73---T-5T-8T-7
Jim FurykT-13T-35------T-55T-7T-8T-376thT-13
Steve StrickermcmcmcT-7T-9T-13Won9thT-42T-13
Keegan Bradley------------------------mcT-13
Lee Westwood---------------------------T-13
Webb Simpson------------------mcmcWonT-18
Jason Dufner---T-37------------T-2T-18T-31T-18
Nick Watneymc---mcmcmcmcT-46T-33T-61T-20
Luke Donaldmc---------T-60---T-54T-2T-3T-26
Ernie Els---------------T-3mcT-30T-16T-26
Charley Hoffman---------mcmcT-33T-27WonT-31T-26
Matt KucharmcT-17T-27---T-41mcT-15T-11T-25T-35
Hunter MahanmcT-25mcT-22mcT-15T-36T-33T-8T-39
Zach Johnson---T-13mc---T-30---T-19T-30T-16T-47
Charl Schwartzel------------------------T-21T-47
Ian Poulter------------mcmcmcT-45mcT-47
Jason Day---------------T-50T-19T-2T-3T-51
Graeme McDowell------------------------T-37T-74
Justin Rose3rdT-29T-27T-4mc---T-54mcT-68mc
Graham DeLaet---------------------------mc
Gary Woodland------------------------T-25---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Adam Scott
Darkhorse - Jim Furyk
Last Week's Pick to Win (Henrik Stenson) - Finished tied for 43rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Brian Harman) - Missed the cut
The PGA Tour heads to Massachusetts this week for the Deutsche Bank Championship. This is the second week of the FedExCup Playoffs. Last week, Adam Scott captured The Barclays and jumped from 11th on the FedExCup points list to second, trailing only world No. 1 Tiger Woods. He also moved to No. 2 in the world rankings. Taking advantage of the Labor Day holiday, this tournament starts on Friday and finishes Monday.

The top 100 players on the FedExCup points list qualified for this tournament. The top 20 players in the world are in the field. The top 70 players on the points list qualify the BMW Championship in two weeks.

When this event was played in 2003, it marked the first time since 1998 that the PGA Tour was in the Boston area. The long-running tournament at Pleasant Valley Country Club in Sutton, Massachusetts, was dropped after 32 years.

Last year, Rory McIlroy carded rounds of 65-65-67-67 to win by one stroke over Louis Oosthuizen. McIlroy finished at 20-under-par 264. It was his third of four wins last season on the PGA Tour.

In 2010, Charley Hoffman fired a 9-under 62 in the final round to roll to a 5-stroke win over Jason Day, Luke Donald and Geoff Ogilvy. Hoffman missed the course record at the TPC Boston by a single stroke, but matched the tournament's scoring record of 22-under-par 262. The victory was Hoffman's second on the PGA Tour. He also won the 2007 Bob Hope Chrysler Classic.

In 2008, Vijay Singh fired an 8-under 63 in the final round to run away with his second straight win in the playoffs. Singh, who won the first FedExCup playoff event the week before at The Barclays, took a commanding lead in the race for the $10 million payout that he did not relinquish. The Fijian, who also won this event in 2004, ended the tournament at 22-under-par 262. The victory for Singh was his 34th on the PGA Tour. He has not won a PGA Tour event since winning here in 2008.

Phil Mickelson got up and down for birdie on the 18th hole in the final round of the 2007 event and won. Mickelson's closing birdie gave him a 5-under 66 on the last day. He completed the championship at 16-under-par 268 to beat Woods, Arron Oberholser and Brett Wetterich by two shots. Mickelson won for the first time while playing alongside Woods.

In 2006, Woods overcame a 3-shot deficit to Singh to win his fifth straight start, shooting an 8-under 63 in the final round to beat his playing partner by two strokes. He ended at 16-under-par 268 for his third win in three weeks. Singh, who set the course record with a 61 in the third round, closed with a 3-under 68 to finish at 14-under 270. Woods would go on to win seven straight PGA Tour events.

The PGA Tour moves to Illinois in two weeks for the third event of the playoffs. A field of 70 players will compete at the BMW Championship, where McIlroy also captured the title last year.

08/27 15:38:10 ET

As of August 27, 2013, at 03:38 PM ET