Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - Wells Fargo Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 2nd through Sunday, May 5th
SITE: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: George Cobb (1961), Arnold Palmer (1986),
         Tom Fazio (redesign - 1997, 2003)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,492
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 418 Yds10 - Par 5 598 Yds
2 - Par 3 178 Yds11 - Par 4 426 Yds
3 - Par 4 452 Yds12 - Par 4 456 Yds
4 - Par 4 483 Yds13 - Par 3 210 Yds
5 - Par 5 570 Yds14 - Par 4 345 Yds
6 - Par 3 250 Yds15 - Par 5 566 Yds
7 - Par 5 532 Yds16 - Par 4 487 Yds
8 - Par 4 350 Yds17 - Par 3 198 Yds
9 - Par 4 495 Yds18 - Par 4 478 Yds
36 3,728 Yds36 3,764 Yds
Annual:  11th
  Television - Golf Channel - Thursday -- 3-7 p.m. (et),
  - Thursday -- 7:30-11:30 p.m. (et) - replay,
  - Friday -- 3-7 p.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 9:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m. (et) - replay,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Saturday/Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Rickie Fowler
Runner-Up:  Rory McIlroy, D.A. Points
Tournament Record:  272 (Anthony Kim, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  201 (Jonathan Byrd, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Pat Perez, 2011; Nick Watney, 2012)
Course Record:  62 (Rory McIlroy, 2010)
Total Purse:  $6,700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,206,000; 2nd Place - $723,600; 3rd Place - $455,600
2012 Finish
Rickie Fowler *274Ryan Moore277
Rory McIlroy274Lee Westwood277
D.A. Points274Nick Watney278
Webb Simpson275Six players at279
Ben Curtis277

* - Won in Playoff

Past Wells Fargo Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*Rickie Fowler (274) -- Rory McIlroy, D.A. Points
2011*Lucas Glover (273) -- Jonathan Byrd
2010Rory McIlroy (273) -- Phil Mickelson
2009Sean O'Hair (277) -- Lucas Glover, Bubba Watson
2008Anthony Kim (272) -- Ben Curtis
2007Tiger Woods (275) -- Steve Stricker
2006*Jim Furyk (276) -- Trevor Immelman
2005*Vijay Singh (276) -- Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia
2004*Joey Sindelar (277) -- Arron Oberholser
2003David Toms (278) -- Vijay Singh, Robert Gamez, Brent Geiberger

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Wachovia Championship (2003-08),
Quail Hollow Championship (2009-10).

Top Contenders in the Field
Rickie Fowler---------------------6thT-16Won
Rory McIlroy---------------------WonmcT-2
D.A. Points------mcmc------mcT-63mcT-2
Webb Simpson------------------mcmcT-214th
Lee Westwood---------mcT-61------T-38---T-5
Nick Watney------T-1121stT-24T-40T-22T-22mc8th
Jonathan Byrdmcmcmc---mcmcT-5mc2ndT-9
David TomsWonmcmc------T-17T-18mcT-24T-15
Sean O'Hair------T-64mcwd---Wonmc---T-15
Phil Mickelson---T-5T-7T-35T-3T-12T-52ndT-9T-26
Hunter Mahan---mcmcwdmcT-12T-22T-17T-16T-53
Zach Johnson---mcmcmc84thT-25T-11T-51T-6T-69
Lucas Glover---T-10mcT-4T-3469thT-2T-22Wonmc
Bill Haasmc---T-22T-4mcmcT-22T-294thmc
Vijay SinghT-2T-10WonT-38T-7T-17mcmcT-9mc
Trevor Immelmanmc------2ndT-14mcT-65T-22T-24mc
Sergio Garcia---T-61T-2T-38T-14T-34mc---T-28---
Bubba Watson---------mcwdmcT-2T-22T-48---
Dustin Johnson---------------mc---T-29mc---
Ian Poulter------mc---mcT-25T-5---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Lee Westwood
Darkhorse - Jimmy Walker
Last Week's Pick to Win (Camilo Villegas) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Richard H. Lee) - Finished tied for 21st
Quite a stellar field is assembled this week, as the PGA Tour returns to North Carolina for the 11th straight year at the Wells Fargo Championship, the final tune-up before next week's Players Championship. Eight of the top 20 players in the world are in the field, led by world No. 2 and 2010 champion Rory McIlroy. The purse increased $200,000 from last year to $6.7 million, with the winner receiving $1,206,000.

McIlroy is still looking for his first victory of 2013 after a brilliant 2012 season. He is playing for the first time since finishing tied for 25th at the Masters three weeks ago. World No. 11 Phil Mickelson is also in the field. He has finished in the top 10 in six of his nine appearances at this event, having never missed the cut.

Six of the 10 winners of this tournament have won major championships: David Toms, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, McIlroy and Lucas Glover. Only Joey Sindelar, Anthony Kim, Sean O'Hair and Rickie Fowler have not captured a major.

The final three holes at Quail Hollow Club, nicknamed the green mile, represents one of the toughest finishing stretches on tour. Last year, the par-4 16th played to a scoring average of 4.150; the par-3 17th played to a 3.143; and the par-4 18th hole played to a stroke average of 4.326.

Last year, Fowler birdied the first playoff hole to earn his first PGA Tour win. He finished at 14-under-par 274 with McIlroy and D.A. Points. Fowler joined McIlroy and Anthony Kim as players that made this event their first tour victory.

Glover 2-putted for par on the first playoff hole in 2011 to defeat Jonathan Byrd. Glover carded rounds of 67-68-69-69 to get in at 15-under-par 273. Glover became the first player in tournament history to record all four rounds in the 60s. Glover and Byrd played collegiate golf together at Clemson University.

In 2010, Northern Ireland's McIlroy fired a course-record, 10-under 62 in the final round to cruise to a 4-stroke win over Mickelson. McIlroy ended at 15-under-par 273. He made the cut on the number at plus-1 and posted 16-under on the weekend to earn his first PGA Tour title. The 20-year-old McIlroy became the youngest winner on the PGA Tour since Woods earned his second title in 1996, also at the age of 20.

McIlroy's final-round 62 was the lowest finishing score by a winner since Brad Faxon fired a 61 at the 2005 Buick Championship. It was also the lowest in relation to par since Ryan Palmer shot the same score at the 2004 Funai Classic at Walt Disney World Resort. McIlroy became the first player to win after making the cut on the number since Chris Couch at the 2006 Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

Kim never let up in the final round in 2008. He closed with a 3-under 69 to roll to a 5-shot win over Ben Curtis, finishing his first PGA Tour victory at 16-under-par 272. Kim set the tournament records for margin of victory (five) and total score (272).

In 2004, Sindelar defeated Arron Oberholser in a playoff to win on the PGA Tour for the first time since the 1990 Hardee's Golf Classic. Sindelar's winless streak was 13 years and eight months. With his winners check of $1,008,000, Sindelar surpassed the $1 million mark in single-season earnings for the first time in his 21-year career.

The PGA Tour travels to Florida next week for the "fifth major," the Players Championship, where Matt Kuchar will defend his title against the best field in golf.

04/30 14:51:34 ET

As of April 30, 2013, at 02:51 PM ET