Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - Puerto Rico Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, March 7th through Sunday, March 10th
SITE: Trump International G.C. (Composite Course), Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Kite and Bruce Bresse (2004)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,506
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 447 Yds10 - Par 4 430 Yds
2 - Par 5 547 Yds11 - Par 3 192 Yds
3 - Par 4 386 Yds12 - Par 4 465 Yds
4 - Par 4 455 Yds13 - Par 4 410 Yds
5 - Par 5 535 Yds14 - Par 4 459 Yds
6 - Par 3 203 Yds15 - Par 5 600 Yds
7 - Par 4 448 Yds16 - Par 3 202 Yds
8 - Par 3 236 Yds17 - Par 4 411 Yds
9 - Par 4 450 Yds18 - Par 5 630 Yds
36 3,707 Yds36 3,799 Yds
Annual:  6th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 7:30-10:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  George McNeill
Runner-Up:  Ryo Ishikawa
Tournament Record:  269 (Derek Lamely, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  199 (Kevin Streelman, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Bo Van Pelt, 2008)
Course Record:  63 (Derek Lamely, 2010; James Driscoll, Chris Tidland, 2011)
Total Purse:  $3,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $630,000; 2nd Place - $378,000; 3rd Place - $238,000
2012 Finish
George McNeill272Matt Jones276
Ryo Ishikawa274Kevin Stadler277
Henrik Stenson275Daniel Summerhays277
Boo Weekley275Three players at278
Scott Brown276
Past Puerto Rico Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012George McNeill (272) -- Ryo Ishikawa
2011*Michael Bradley (272) -- Troy Matteson
2010Derek Lamely (269) -- Kris Blanks
2009Michael Bradley (274) -- Jason Day, Brett Quigley
2008Greg Kraft (274) -- Jerry Kelly, Bo Van Pelt

Top Contenders in the Field
George McNeill---------5thWon
Ryo Ishikawa------------2nd
Henrik Stenson---------T-28T-3
Boo Weekley------T-24wdT-3
Kevin StadlerT-4T-44T-17T-18T-7
Graham DeLaet------T-24---T-9
Jeff OvertonT-398thT-15---T-14
Dicky PridemcmcwdT-50T-20
Angel Cabrera---------T-724th
Jerry KellyT-2T-9---wdT-25
Troy Matteson---T-31---2ndT-32
Michael Bradley---WonT-15WonT-42
Bill Lunde------T-10T-37T-63
K.J. Choi---------------
Luke Guthrie---------------
Shane Lowry---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Luke Guthrie
Darkhorse - Graham DeLaet
Last Week's Pick to Win (Justin Rose) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Ted Potter, Jr.) - Missed the cut
The PGA Tour travels to the Isle of Enchantment this week for the Puerto Rico Open. The 2008 tournament was the first full-field sanctioned PGA Tour event held in Puerto Rico.

The top players in the world are in Florida at the WGC-Cadillac Championship, therefore, there are only four players in the top-70 of the world rankings in Puerto Rico. Henrik Stenson is the highest-ranked player in the field at 58th in the world. He is joined by Luke Guthrie (65), Shane Lowry (65) and K.J. Choi (69).

Stenson has played on two European Ryder Cup teams and won the 2009 Players Championship. The 23-year-old Guthrie finished third last week at the Honda Classic, his best-ever finish on the PGA Tour. He was tied for the lead heading into the final round. Lowry reached the third round of the WGC- Accenture Match Play Championship two weeks ago, defeating world No. 1 Rory McIlroy in the first round. Choi has played on three International Presidents Cup teams and won the 2011 Players Championship.

Six former major champions are in the field this week: Angel Cabrera (2007 U.S. Open, 2009 Masters), John Daly (1991 PGA Championship, 1995 British Open), David Duval (2001 British Open), Lee Janzen (1993 and 1998 U.S. Open), Justin Leonard (1997 British Open) and Y.E. Yang (2009 PGA Championship).

Three Puerto Rico residents are expected to compete - Rafael Campos, Max Alverio and Edward Figueroa. Campos is a San Juan native and a Virginia Commonwealth graduate. Campos and Alverio are playing in their sixth Puerto Rico Open, while Figueroa is playing in his second.

Trump International Golf Club, designed by Tom Kite, is the only 36-hole golf facility in Puerto Rico where you can play in the Mountains, play along the Ocean, play in the Palms and play among the Lakes. It's also the only golf course in Puerto Rico with white silica sand bunkers. Relax in the clubhouse, one of the largest in the Caribbean, and enjoy views of both the Ocean and the El Yunque Rainforest. Trump International was originally called Coco Beach Golf & Country Club. A portion of all four nines will be used to make up a composite layout this week.

Last year, George McNeill birdied the last three holes in the final round to win by two shots over Ryo Ishikawa. McNeill, who won for the second time on the PGA Tour, finished at 16-under-par 272. The second place finish was Ishikawa's best on the PGA Tour.

In 2011, Michael Bradley parred the first playoff hole to defeat Troy Matteson and win this event for the second time in three years. Bradley fired four straight rounds of 68 and finished at 16-under-par 272 with Matteson. Bradley has now won a PGA Tour title in each of the last three decades.

In 2010, Derek Lamely fired weekend rounds of 63-66 to come from behind and win the rain-delayed tournament. Lamely, who won for the first time on the PGA Tour, completed the event at 19-under-par 269. Lamely's 63 in the third round established a new course record and his 269 total was a new tournament record.

In 2009, Bradley birdied the 18th hole and shot a 2-under 70 in the final round to win his first PGA Tour title in 11 years. Bradley picked up his first win since the 1998 Doral-Ryder Open.

Greg Kraft fired rounds of 69-66-69-70 to overtake third-round leader Bo Van Pelt in 2008 and win the inaugural event. Kraft finished at 14-under-par 274 for his first official tour title. He won the 1993 Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, but that was played opposite The Masters and not counted as an official victory.

The PGA Tour moves to the west coast of Florida next week for the Tampa Bay Championship in Palm Harbor, where Luke Donald captured the title last year.

03/05 13:24:25 ET

As of March 5, 2013, at 01:24 PM ET