Fox News - Fair & Balanced


PGA - Tampa Bay Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, March 14th through Sunday, March 17th
SITE: Innisbrook Resort & Golf Club (Copperhead Course), Palm Harbor, FL
COURSE ARCHITECT: Larry Packard (1972)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,340
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 560 yds10 - Par 4 445 yds
2 - Par 4 435 yds11 - Par 5 575 yds
3 - Par 4 455 yds12 - Par 4 380 yds
4 - Par 3 195 yds13 - Par 3 200 yds
5 - Par 5 605 yds14 - Par 5 590 yds
6 - Par 4 465 yds15 - Par 3 215 yds
7 - Par 4 420 yds16 - Par 4 475 yds
8 - Par 3 235 yds17 - Par 3 215 yds
9 - Par 4 430 yds18 - Par 4 445 yds
36 3,800 yds35 3,540 yds
Annual:  13th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Thursday -- 8:30-11:30 p.m. (et) - replay,
  - Friday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 10:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m. (et) - replay,
  - Saturday -- 1:30-3 p.m. (et),
  NBC - Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Golf Channel - Sunday -- 1-3 p.m. (et),
  NBC - Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Luke Donald
Runner-Up:  Sang-Moon Bae, Jim Furyk, Robert Garrigus
Tournament Record:  266 (Vijay Singh, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  199 (K.J. Choi, 2002)
36-Hole Record:  131 (K.J. Choi, 2002)
Course Record:  61 (Padraig Harrington, 2012)
Total Purse:  $5,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $990,000; 2nd Place - $594,000; 3rd Place - $374,000
2012 Finish
Luke Donald *271Ernie Els272
Sang-Moon Bae271Jeff Overton272
Jim Furyk271Scott Piercy272
Robert Garrigus271Bo Van Pelt273
Ken Duke272Four players at274

* - Won in Playoff

Past Transitions Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*Luke Donald (271) -- Sang-Moon Bae, Jim Furyk, Robert Garrigus
2011Gary Woodland (269) -- Webb Simpson
2010Jim Furyk (271) -- K.J. Choi
2009Retief Goosen (276) -- Charles Howell III, Brett Quigley
2008Sean O'Hair (280) -- Ryuji Imada, Troy Matteson, George McNeill,
John Senden, Stewart Cink, Billy Mayfair
2007Mark Calcavecchia (274) -- John Senden, Heath Slocum
2006K.J. Choi (271) -- Paul Goydos, Brett Wetterich
2005Carl Pettersson (275) -- Chad Campbell
2004Vijay Singh (266) -- Tommy Armour III, Jesper Parnevik
2003Retief Goosen (272) -- Vijay Singh
2002K.J. Choi (267) -- Glen Day
2001Not held due to the tragedies of September 11
2000John Huston (271) -- Carl Paulson

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Tampa Bay Classic (2000-02),
Chrysler Championship (2003-06), PODS Championship (2007-08).

Top Contenders in the Field
Luke DonaldT-58------------------T-6---Won
Jim Furyk---mc------------T-52WonT-13T-2
Robert Garrigus------------mcT-42mc---mcT-2
Sang-Moon Bae---------------------------T-2
Webb Simpson------------------mcT-132ndT-10
Matt Kuchar---T-20------mc---T-12------T-10
Sergio Garcia------------T-59------T-41T-15T-16
Geoff OgilvyT-9T-20mc------T-10---T-28T-28T-16
Michael Thompson---------------------------T-16
Retief GoosenWonT-20T-44mc---mcWon5thT-28T-20
Jason Day---------------mcmcT-61T-51T-20
Louis Oosthuizen---------------------------T-20
Gary Woodland------------------------WonT-29
Zach Johnson------mcT-55T-14---mcT-85T-20T-46
George McNeill------------T-48T-2mcmcT-63T-46
K.J. ChoiT-40mcwdWonT-6---mc2ndmcT-46
Nick Watney---------T-58T-48T-23T-124thT-13T-51
Brian GaymcT-50mcT-9T-4mcT-46T-63T-37T-55
Vijay Singh2ndWonmcT-19T-19---------T-51T-63
Carl PetterssonmcT-8WonmcmcT-23mcT-8T-67mc
Sean O'Hair------T-10mcmcWonmcmcmcmc
Adam Scott------T-35mc------mcT-28------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Sergio Garcia
Darkhorse - Michael Thompson
Last Week's Pick to Win - Cadillac Championship (Steve Stricker) - Finished
Last Week's Darkhorse - Cadillac Championship (Jason Day) - Finished T-33
Last Week's Pick to Win - Puerto Rico (Luke Guthrie) - Finished tied for 18th
Last Week's Darkhorse - Puerto Rico (Graham DeLaet) - Finished tied for 18th
The PGA Tour remains in Florida this week for the third of four consecutive weeks in the Sunshine State with the Tampa Bay Championship in Palm Harbor. Four of the top-9 players in the world are teeing it up, led by world No. 3 and defending champion Luke Donald. He is joined by Louis Oosthuizen (6), Adam Scott (7) and Match Play champion Matt Kuchar (9).

This tournament was known as the Chrysler Championship from 2003-06 and was played in late October. The 2000 tournament marked the PGA Tour's first trip to the Tampa area since 1964. This course previously hosted the JCPenney Classic, an unofficial money event which featured 2-player teams from the LPGA and PGA Tours from 1977-99. John Daly and Laura Davies were the last duo to win that event.

Last year, Donald birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Jim Furyk, Sang- Moon Bae and Robert Garrigus and return to No. 1 in the world rankings. The victory was his fifth on the PGA Tour. Donald posted a final-round, 5-under 66 to get in at 13-under 271 with Furyk, Bae and Garrigus. It the first playoff in the history of the tournament and was the first 4-man extra session since the 2007 Honda Classic. Donald has since fallen to No. 3 in the world behind Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods.

Gary Woodland holed two clutch putts on 17 and 18 on the final day in 2011 to earn his first PGA Tour victory. Woodland shot a 4-under 67 in the final round to come from behind and get the win at the Copperhead Course at Innisbrook Golf and Spa Resort. He finished at 15-under 269 and won by a stroke over Webb Simpson. Woodland was a perfect 17-of-17 on putts from inside 20 feet during the final round.

In 2010, Furyk captured his first win since 2007, shooting four rounds in the 60s to beat K.J. Choi by a stroke. Furyk finished at 13-under 271.

Retief Goosen posted rounds of 69-68-69-70 in 2009 for a 1-stroke win over Charles Howell III and Brett Quigley. Goosen, a two-time U.S. Open champion, completed his seventh PGA Tour win at 8-under-par 276. It was the second time Goosen won this title, having also hoisted the trophy in 2003. The victory was his first on the PGA Tour since the 2005 International.

In 2008, Sean O'Hair shot a 2-under 69 in the final round to win, making two key back-nine birdies to wrap up his second PGA Tour victory. Nearly three years after he broke through as a rookie to win the 2005 John Deere Classic, O'Hair outplayed veterans Billy Mayfair and Stewart Cink with a solid final- round performance. O'Hair's 4-under score was the highest winning total in tournament history.

Mark Calcavecchia opened the 2007 version with a first-round 75, but still managed to come from behind and win. Calcavecchia added rounds of 67-62-70 to finish at 10-under-par 274 and win by one over John Senden and Heath Slocum. The opening-round 75 by Calcavecchia was the highest first round by a winner since Jeff Sluman shot a 75 at the 1997 Tucson Chrysler Classic. Calcavecchia became the first American to win this event since John Huston won the inaugural tournament in 2000. He also became the oldest winner in event history at 46 years, eight months and 27 days.

In 2004, Vijay Singh fired a 6-under 65 in the final round to cruise to victory. He finished with an 18-under-par total of 266 and won by five over Tommy Armour III and Jesper Parnevik. The win was Singh's ninth of the 2004 season and the $900,000 first-prize check made him the first player in PGA Tour history to eclipse the $10 million mark in single-season earnings. Singh's 18-under-par 266 established a new tournament record, topping Choi's 2002 mark by a stroke.

When Choi won in 2002, he led wire-to-wire after opening with a 63, as he shot four rounds in the 60s. Choi, who won earlier in 2002 in New Orleans, also registered 36-hole (131) and 54-hole (199) records en route to a 7-shot win over Glen Day. The Korean also became the second Asian-born player to win multiple events on the PGA Tour, joining Shigeki Maruyama of Japan.

The PGA Tour heads to Orlando next week for the Arnold Palmer Invitational, where Tiger Woods won his first PGA Tour title in over two years last year.

03/12 14:54:02 ET

As of March 12, 2013, at 02:54 PM ET