Fox News - Fair & Balanced


$7,500,000 Omega World Cup of Golf Field
Mission Hills Golf Club (Blackstone Course)
Par 72 - 7511 Yards
Hainan Island, Shenzhen, China
Nov 24 - Nov 27, 2011
Guatemala (Acuna/Toledo)
Thailand (Aphibarnrat/Jaidee)
France (Bourdy/Jacquelin)
Colombia (C.Villegas/M.Villegas)
Germany (Cejka/Kaymer)
Belguim (Colsaerts/Theunis)
Brazil (da Silva/Lee)
Wales (Davies/Donaldson)
Mexico (de Jesus Rodriguez/Serna)
Zimbabwe (de Jonge/McDonald)
Netherlands (Derksen/Luiten)
Italy (E.Molinari/F.Molinari)
Scotland (Gallacher/Laird)
Australia (Green/Jones)
Portugal (H.Santos/R.Santos)
New Zealand (Hendry/Paddison)
Japan (Hiratsuka/Ikeda)
Spain (Jimenez/A.Quiros)
Sweden (Karlsson/Noren)
Korea (Kim/Park)
United States (Kuchar/Woodland)
Singapore (Lam/Mamat)
China (Liang/Zhang)
Ireland (McDowell/McIlroy)
Denmark (Olesen/A.Hansen)
South Africa (Oosthuizen/Schwartzel)
England (Poulter/Rose)
Austria (Praegant/Steiner)
Two-man teams representing several countries highlight the Thanksgiving week of golf. The format features four balls on Thursday and Saturday and foursomes on Friday and Sunday. The last World Cup was staged two years ago and Edoardo and Francesco Molinari secured the title for Italy. They won by a single stroke over the Irish pair of Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell. The Molinaris shot a 68 on Sunday to come from behind and win. The Irish boys led after the first three rounds, but the Molinaris gave Italy its first win in this event. The U.S. has dominated this championship with 23 wins. The last American team to win was Tiger Woods and David Duval in 2000. This year, the U.S. will be represented by Matt Kuchar, fresh of being part of the winning American Presidents Cup team, and long-hitting Gary Woodland. The Molinaris are back, as are McIlroy and McDowell, who have to be considered something of the favorites. Not only were they second two years ago, but both are major champions now and McIlroy is the highest-rated player in the field at No. 2. Several high-ranked players are in the field this week. World No. 4 Martin Kaymer teams with Alex Cejka for Germany. Justin Rose and Ian Poulter represent England and South Africa features Masters champion Charl Schwartzel and 2010 British Open winner Louis Oosthuizen. Three-time winner on the European Tour this year, Thomas Bjorn, withdrew on Saturday due to a neck injury. He was replaced on the Denmark team by Thorbjorn Olesen, who will team with Anders Hansen. This isn`t the only European Tour event this week with the South African Open Championship on tap. Coverage for the World Cup will be live on Golf Channel. Next week is the last full-field event on the year on the European Tour, the Hong Kong Open. Mr. Poulter won last year`s championship.