Fox News - Fair & Balanced


Simultaneous Tournament: Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera
$8,500,000 WGC - Match Play Championship Field
Ritz Carlton Golf Club, Dove Mountain (Saguaro, Tortolita nines)
Par 72 - 7791 Yards
Marana, Arizona
Feb 23 - Feb 27, 2011
Robert Allenby
Thomas Bjorn
Jonathan Byrd
Paul Casey
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Ben Crane
Jason Day
Luke Donald
Ernie Els
Ross Fisher
Rickie Fowler
Hiroyuki Fujita
Jim Furyk
Retief Goosen
Richard Green
Bill Haas
Anders Hansen
Peter Hanson
Padraig Harrington
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Yuta Ikeda
Ryo Ishikawa
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Brendan Jones
Robert Karlsson
Martin Kaymer
Anthony Kim
Kyung-Tae Kim
Matt Kuchar
Martin Laird
Hunter Mahan
Matteo Manassero
Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Phil Mickelson
Edoardo Molinari
Francesco Molinari
Ryan Moore
Seung-Yul Noh
Sean O'Hair
Geoff Ogilvy
Louis Oosthuizen
Jeff Overton
Ryan Palmer
Ian Poulter *
Alvaro Quiros
Justin Rose
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
Heath Slocum
Henrik Stenson
Steve Stricker
Bo Van Pelt
Camilo Villegas
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Lee Westwood
Mark Wilson
Tiger Woods
Y.E. Yang
* - Defending Champion
The first World Golf Championships event tees off Wednesday with the Accenture Match Play Championship. No American made the final four last year. That group included a Colombian, Camilo Villegas, and three Europeans - winner Ian Poulter, runner-up Paul Casey and Sergio Garcia, who lost the consolation match to Villegas. Poulter had a mix of close matches and blowouts en route to winning the title. He opened with a win over Justin Leonard in a match that went to the 19th hole. That was also his only victory over an American in his six matches. The Englishman followed with a 2 & 1 triumph over Adam Scott. Poulter routed Jeev Milkha Singh, 5 & 4, then fended off Thongchai Jaidee, 1-up, to reach the semifinals. Poulter trounced Garcia 7 & 6 to set up the final match against Casey. Poulter led 2-up after the morning 18, then won the first two holes of the afternoon session to push his lead to 4-up. Casey started to rally with wins at nine and 10 to get it back to 2-down. Poulter made a remarkable par save at 12 to halve the hole. Casey then missed a nine-footer for birdie on 15 and was 3-down with three to go. Poulter closed out the match on 16 with a 12-foot par-saving putt. It was his ninth win on the European Tour, but first on the PGA Tour. Casey finished second for the second straight year as he dropped a 4 & 3 decision to Geoff Ogilvy in the 2009 final. There was a format change this year. The final match will only be 18 holes. The semifinals will be played Sunday morning before the final and consolation matches are played Sunday afternoon. In the last five years, Tiger Woods is the only American winner. Before Poulter, Ogilvy won twice (2006, 2009) and Henrik Stenson won the 2007 title. Prior to Ogilvy`s win in `06, the only non-American winner was Darren Clarke, who claimed the title in 2000. Woods won this championship three times, including back-to-back in 2003-04. He didn`t play last year. This will be the third straight year the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club at Dove Mountain is hosting the championship. Golf Channel has extensive coverage Wednesday through Friday, then early coverage before NBC has action from 2-6 p.m. (et) Saturday and Sunday. The European Tour is off next week and will remain in the United States the following week for the next WGC event, the Cadillac Championship, where Ernie Els won last year. The PGA Tour heads east to Florida next week for The Honda Classic, where Camilo Villegas is expected to defend his title.