Fox News - Fair & Balanced


$5,600,000 Hyundai Tournament of Champions Field
Kapalua Resort (Plantation Course)
Par 73 - 7411 Yards
Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii
Jan 6 - Jan 9, 2011
Stuart Appleby
Arjun Atwal
Cameron Beckman
Matt Bettencourt
Jason Bohn
Jonathan Byrd
Tim Clark
Ben Crane
Jason Day
Ernie Els
Jim Furyk
Robert Garrigus
Bill Haas
Charley Hoffman
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Anthony Kim
Matt Kuchar
Derek Lamely
Bill Lunde
Hunter Mahan
Graeme McDowell
Rocco Mediate
Francesco Molinari
Ryan Palmer
Carl Pettersson
Ian Poulter
Justin Rose
Adam Scott
Heath Slocum
Steve Stricker
Camilo Villegas
Bubba Watson
The season-opening Hyundai Tournament of Champions kicks off Thursday with 33 of the 39 eligible players teeing it up. Two-time defending champion Geoff Ogilvy had withdraw before the tournament started. He sliced his finger while swimming in the ocean on Monday and needed 12 stitches to close the cut. Ogilvy and fellow Australian Stuart Appleby have dominated this event recently. They have won five of the last seven titles. Appleby won three straight from 2004-06. The two winners that snapped the Australian strangle-hold on the event -- Vijay Singh and Daniel Chopra -- did not qualify this year. Last year, Ogilvy trailed by one entering the final round, but fired a six-under 67 to fend off Rory Sabbatini to repeat as champion. Sabbatini fired a 10-under 63 to end one shot back. Third-round leader Lucas Glover stumbled to a three-over 76, which dropped him into a share of 14th. His 76 was the worst round of the day and one of just three over-par scores in the final round. The field on the par-73 Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort is missing three of the four reigning major champions -- Phil Mickelson, Louis Oosthuizen and Martin Kaymer. Also skipping the tournament is Quail Hollow winner Rory McIlroy as well as world No. 1 and St. Jude Classic champion Lee Westwood. This marks the 13th straight year the Plantation Course has hosted this tournament. Golf Channel has coverage of all four rounds. Coverage runs from 5:30 - 10:00 p.m. (et) the first three rounds, while Sunday`s coverage goes from 6-10 p.m. The tour remains in Hawaii next week for the first full-field event of the season. Ryan Palmer is expected to defend his title at the Sony Open.