Fox News - Fair & Balanced

Sports


Missouri State to visit Kansas State, Louisville

Springfield, MO (Sports Network) - Missouri State football will open the 2012 season by visiting two FBS opponents and play five home games as part of an 11-game schedule announced Monday.

Seventh-year head coach Terry Allen and the Bears will open the season at Kansas State on Sept. 1. The host Wildcats have won the two previous meetings in the series.

The Bears will then play Louisville for the first time, going to Kentucky on Sept. 8.

Missouri State will play its home opener at Plaster Field on Sept. 15 against Murray State of the Ohio Valley Conference.

From there, the Bears will complete the regular season with eight straight Missouri Valley Football Conference opponents. Included are home games against Southern Illinois (Sept. 22), conference newcomer South Dakota (Oct. 13), Western Illinois (Oct. 27) on Homecoming and 2011 FCS national champion North Dakota State (Nov. 3).

Missouri State will go on the road to face at South Dakota State (Sept. 29), Indiana State (Oct. 6), Illinois State (Oct. 20) and Northern Iowa (Nov. 17).

The Bears are coming off a 2-9 season. In the new 10-team MVFC, they won't play Youngstown State in 2012.

2012 Missouri State Football Schedule

All Times ET

Saturday, Sept. 1 - at Kansas State, Manhattan, Kan., TBA

Saturday, Sept. 8 - at Louisville, Louisville, Ky., TBA

Saturday, Sept. 15 - Murray State, Springfield, Mo., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22 - Southern Illinois*, Springfield, Mo., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29 - at South Dakota State*, Brookings, S.D., 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 6 - at Indiana State*, Terre Haute, Ind., 3 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 13 - South Dakota*, Springfield, Mo., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 20 - at Illinois State*, Normal, Ill., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 27 - Western Illinois* (Homecoming), Springfield, Mo., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 3 - North Dakota State*, Springfield. Mo., 2 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 17 - at Northern Iowa*, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 5 p.m.

* - Missouri Valley Football Conference game

02/06 16:58:41 ET