Fox News - Fair & Balanced

Sports


Delaware to play seven home games in 2012

Newark, DE (Sports Network) - The University of Delaware football team will play seven home games in 2012, including three straight to open the season.

The schedule kicks off with the final match-up in Delaware's long-time series with Division II West Chester on Aug. 30.

The Blue Hens will then play their other two non-conference games against Delaware State on Sept. 8 and Bucknell on Saturday, Sept. 15. Bucknell is coached by Delaware graduate Joe Susan.

Delaware's other home games are within the CAA Football against Maine (Oct. 6), Rhode Island (Oct. 20) on Homecoming, 2012 conference champion Towson (Nov. 3) and Villanova (Nov. 17) in the annual Battle of the Blue.

The Blue Hens will head to the road for CAA games against William & Mary (Sept. 22), New Hampshire (Sept. 29), Old Dominion (Oct. 27) and Richmond (Nov. 10).

Delaware will not play James Madison and CAA newcomer Georgia State within conference play.

Coach K.C. Keeler's Blue Hens were 7-4 in 2011 and will return 21 players with starter's experience in 2012.

2012 University of Delaware Football Schedule

All Times ET

Thursday, Aug. 30 - vs. West Chester, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 8 - vs. Delaware State, 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 15 - vs. Bucknell, 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22 - at William & Mary*

Saturday, Sept. 29 - at New Hampshire*

Saturday, Oct. 6 - vs. Maine*, 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 20 - vs. Rhode Island*, 3:30 p.m. (Homecoming)

Saturday, Oct. 27 - at Old Dominion*

Saturday, Nov. 3 - vs. Towson*, 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 10 - at Richmond*

Saturday, Nov. 17 - vs. Villanova*, 3:30 p.m.

* - Colonial Athletic Association games

12/26 06:53:19 ET