Fox News - Fair & Balanced

Sports


James Madison to kick off 2011 at UNC

Harrisonburg, VA (Sports Network) - A year after knocking off Virginia Tech, James Madison will try to do that same against the University of North Carolina when it opens its season on Sept. 3 in Chapel Hill.

With a 21-16 upset at Virginia Tech last September, the Dukes became the second FCS program to beat a ranked FBS team.

The JMU-UNC matchup will be the second all-time meeting between the two programs. UNC won 34-14 in 2007.

JMU will then return home to open the renovated and expanded Bridgeforth Stadium on Sept. 10, hosting Central Connecticut State.

The Dukes' other home games will occur in the Colonial Athletic Association, including a three-game homestand against Richmond on Homecoming Day Oct. 1, Maine Oct. 8 and Villanova Oct. 15. Their fifth and final home game of the 11-game regular season is against Rhode Island on Nov. 12.

"It's the most challenging, if not difficult, schedule we have ever had," JMU head coach Mickey Matthews said.

2011 James Madison Football Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 3, at North Carolina

Saturday, Sept. 10, Central Connecticut State

Saturday, Sept. 17, at Liberty

Saturday, Sept. 24 at William & Mary*

Saturday, Oct. 1, Richmond* (Homecoming)

Saturday, Oct. 8, Maine*

Saturday, Oct. 15, Villanova*

Saturday, Oct. 29, at Old Dominion*

Saturday, Nov. 5, at New Hampshire*

Saturday, Nov. 12, Rhode Island*

Saturday, Nov. 19, at Massachusetts*

* - CAA Football games

02/07 15:34:46 ET