Fox News - Fair & Balanced


Derrick Lloyd wins 2001 Buck Buchanan Award

James Madison linebacker honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS

Derrick Lloyd
Derrick Lloyd led all FCS defenders this season with 94 solo tackles.
Chattanooga, TN (Sports Network) - James Madison linebacker Derrick Lloyd was named the eighth winner of the Buck Buchanan Award tonight at the FCS College Football Awards held in Chattanooga, TN on the eve of the FCS national championship. The Buchanan Award is presented annually to the top defensive player in FCS.

The senior recorded 157 tackles during the regular season for the Dukes, leading all of FCS with 94 solo stops on the year. Lloyd had nine double-digit tackle performances during the season, including a 23-tackle performance against nationally-ranked Rhode Island on Sept. 22. The Charlotte, NC native also amassed 19 tackles for loss, 7.5 sacks, 14 quarterback hurries and five fumble recoveries on the year.

Said Lloyd, "The Buchanan Award is a great personal honor, but I never thought about it -- only trying to help my team win. I couldn't have won it without the help of my teammates."

Lloyd is the sixth consecutive senior to win the award, and the fifth linebacker. Linebacker Dexter Coakley was a two-time winner of the award, and LB Edgerton Hartwell won the honor last season. Lloyd's selection as the Buchanan Award winner makes him the first player in Colonial Athletic (formerly Atlantic 10) Football Conference history to win the award.

Lloyd was a dominant force on a defense that ranked first in the Colonial Athletic Conference and 11th in the nation in pass defense, surrendering just 149 passing yards per game in one of the nation's highest-octane throwing leagues. James Madison gave up 21 points or fewer six times during the 2001 season, allowing eventual FCS playoff teams Maine and William & Mary 13 and 17 points, respectively. Despite James Madison's 2-9 record this past season, Lloyd was honored as the Colonial Athletic Co-Defensive Player of the Year, along with Maine linebacker Stephen Cooper.

Lloyd's on-field prowess began at Coffeyville Community College in Kansas, where he parlayed a 137-tackle freshman performance in 1998 into a spot in the 1999 James Madison rotation. With 55 tackles during his first year at JMU, Lloyd was an integral part of a club that won the Atlantic 10 co-title and earned a trip to the FCS playoffs. In 2000, Lloyd upped his tackle total to 108, garnering All-Colonial Athletic praise for his performance.

Lloyd received 19 first-place votes and 207 points from the panel of 103 FCS sports information directors and selected media. Following Lloyd in the voting were Montana safety Vince Huntsberger, who earned 15 first-place votes and 191 total points, and Furman linebacker Will Bouton, who registered 14 first-place votes and 177 total points.

The Buck Buchanan Award was established in 1995 by The Sports Network. The Award is named for All-Pro defensive end Junious "Buck" Buchanan, who played for the Kansas City Chiefs after beginning his career at Grambling State University.