NBA

Here's slow-motion proof Steph Curry's Game 2 move on LeBron was a double-dribble

Its been called everything from disrespectful to jaw-dropping, but was it legal?

Steph Currys dribbling exhibition against LeBron James during the Golden State Warriors 132-113 beating of the Cleveland Cavaliers in Game 2 will likely be the lasting highlight of the series. It was a one-on-one moment that NBA fans salivate over, and in this instance Curry got the better of LeBron.

But a closer look at the sequence appears to show that the reigning two-time MVP got away with a sleight-of-hand maneuver thats not exactly legal. Curry tried to lose LeBron on the baseline but opted to dribble back beyond the arc and ball-faked James, who left his feet for the briefest of moments.

It was just enough time for Curry to dribble around the four-time MVP and finish a layup around James, who desperately tried to pin the ball against the backboard. But during that pump-fake, Currys left hand looks like it touched the ball ever so briefly, which would be a double-dribble.

Heres the footage, which is paused at the 21-second mark to further highlight the potential violation.

Double-dribble or nah? ( @NBA, h/t ballgod/Instagram) pic.twitter.com/D2uAVXPbKL

— Bleacher Report (@BleacherReport) June 5, 2017

Its not like NBA players dont bend the rules when it comes to traveling. LeBron appeared to get away with a blatant travelearlier in the postseason against the Celtics, but this one does seem to take some of the luster off Curry's move.

9


gallery:
Ranking every team LeBron James has faced in the NBA Finals

NBAE/Getty Images | NBAE