Nico Rosberg will start on pole position for Sunday's German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring in Hockenheim, Germany.

This is his fifth pole of the season, and comes in front of his home fans in the first Grand Prix weekend since he lost the points lead to his Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton.

Rosberg had to abort his first run in Q3, but he was able to go to set a 1:14.363 when it counted, beating Hamilton - who locked up on his final run - by 0.107 seconds.

More from FoxSports

Behind them, the Red Bull Racing teammates locked out the second row while the Ferrari teammates will start fifth and sixth in row 3.

Only five teams saw their cars go through to the final qualifying session: Mercedes, Ferrari, Red Bull, Williams and Force India. Among the teams wiped out in Q2 were McLaren and Haas, with Esteban Gutierrez just missing out on making Haas' first appearance in Q3 by 0.184 seconds.

Among those eliminated in Q1 was Daniil Kvyat, who has struggled ever since his move to Toro Rosso. Behind him, the Sauber teammates will round out the back row of the grid.

Romain Grosjean has a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change.

Unofficial qualifying results:

1. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
2. Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
3. Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull
4. Max Verstappen - Red Bull
5. Kimi Raikkonen - Ferrari
6. Sebastian Vettel - Ferrari
7. Nico Hulkenberg - Force India
8. Valtteri Bottas - Williams
9. Sergio Perez - Force India
10. Felipe Massa - Williams
11. Esteban Gutierrez - Haas
12. Jenson Button - McLaren
13. Carlos Sainz - Toro Rosso
14. Fernando Alonso - McLaren
15. Romain Grosjean - Haas (+5-place grid penalty)
16. Jolyon Palmer - Renault
17. Kevin Magnussen - Renault
18. Pascal Wehrlein - Manor
19. Daniil Kvyat - Toro Rosso
20. Rio Haryanto - Manor
21. Felipe Nasr - Sauber
22. Marcus Ericsson - Sauber