Lewis Hamilton has taken the points lead from his Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg for the first time this season after winning Sunday's Hungarian GP at the Hungaroring in Budapest. This is his third win in a row and fifth this season.

In reality, the race into the first turn was the only one there was up front, as Red Bull Racing's Daniel Ricciardo got a good launch off of the grid and challenged the Silver Arrows into the first turn.

However, Hamilton fended off the challenge, and Rosberg moved back up into second spot in the next sequence of turns.

More from FoxSports

Rosberg never dropped too far back of Hamilton and, in fact, ahead of the second round of stops, Hamilton was asked to pick up the pace for the team to build up a gap ahead of Red Bull before the stops.

In the closing laps, Hamilton got held up by the Haas of Esteban Gutierrez as he came up to lap him, allowing Rosberg to close in, but Hamilton held on to the win. Gutierrez was given a five-second time penalty for ignoring blue flags.

With Rosberg finishing in second, Hamilton holds a six-point lead over his teammate heading into next weekend's German Grand Prix.

Daniel Ricciardo rounded out the podium in third while his teammate Max Verstappen dropped back behind the Ferrari of Sebastian Vettel in the first round of stops. Raikkonen challenged Verstappen for fifth in the closing stages but Verstappen held him off. The two even made contact at one point, with Raikkonen damaging his front wing.

Unofficial results:

1. Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
3. Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull
4. Sebastian Vettel - Ferrari
5. Max Verstappen - Red Bull
6. Kimi Raikkonen - Ferrari
7. Fernando Alonso - McLaren
8. Carlos Sainz - Toro Rosso
9. Valtteri Bottas - Williams
10. Nico Hulkenberg - Force India
11. Sergio Perez - Force India
12. Jolyon Palmer - Renault
13. Esteban Gutierrez - Haas
14. Romain Grosjean - Haas
15. Kevin Magnussen - Renault
16. Daniil Kvyat - Toro Rosso
17. Felipe Nasr - Sauber
18. Felipe Massa - Williams
19. Pascal Wehrlein - Manor
20. Marcus Ericsson - Sauber
21. Rio Haryanto - Manor
22. Jenson Button - McLaren (DNF)